Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Expert Elec. SunSDR2 Pro

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Expert Elec. SunSDR2 Pro
Reviews: 12MSRP: 2100 USD
Description:
160m through 2m SDR Transceiver
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.sunsdr.com
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
13124.8
RA4RT Rating: 2019-08-08
not the best Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
If the receiver can be classified as 3 +, the transmitter can be classified only as 3. Can only be used as a panoramic console. In the ranking of the magazine QST ss2pro honorary title of the 47th.
K2PAL Rating: 2018-12-25
This is a diamond! Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Hello,
This is a diamond, a real one for radio amateurs.
I find it funny,how much money I threw into nowhere I had a lot of Japanese transceivers from ts440 to ftdh5000 and domestic K3 to Flex.
And glory, glory, and now I own SunSdr2Pro.
This is where the price is quality, and the pan adapter is something I have not seen anywhere like this.
You have not tried it, so I will tell you to stop throwing out your money
.. try sunsdr2pro and you will be happy.
K6TWO Rating: 2018-02-09
Great rig, great support Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I've had this little SDR for 6 months and my Ft991A is idled because of it. First the support from NSI the NA vender is excellent. All issues my 78 year old brain could create, Yuri the tech support engineer resolved within hours of my call!

Now the the hardware and software. The hardware is first class in construction and operation. I've never had a hardware failure. The software is excellent. Just make sure your computer has the necessary processing power. The software is very very stable under Windows 10 with an I7 processed. The SUNSDR2PRO covers from 160 to 2 meters? The 2 meter system does all you need for your analog RF use. It'll do JT8.....>RTTY on all the band's. It has a 10 band equalizer for both receive and transmit.

The part I like is the 2 independent receivers, each with dual receivers. That is 4 receivers and passbands you can watch. Then there is a fifth receiver that feeds a 75 Mhz spectrum display so you may watch the whole HF Sepctrum.

The Quick start documentation is excellent for getting started. There is also software for remote use of the SUNSDR2PRO

What's not to like?!
K9OJ Rating: 2018-01-17
Great Performer and Fantastic Value Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I was looking for a tough HF radio to put in the attic which could be remoted using Ethernet but the cost was too high until I found the SunSDR2 Pro. I read the favorable reviews and placed an order.

I set its IP address, put it in the attic and plugged it into my attic router. I'm very happy with the unit's performance, it just works and the software is really good too. You can load the (Windows/Linux/OSX) software in as many computers as you like.

Remote cloud access is a bonus. I use a USB gaming headset for receive and transmit and its easy to create "profiles" so you can easily switch from a headset to PC speakers and hand mike.
KK4X Rating: 2017-06-14
What a SDR Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Hello, I currently have 2 other models of SDR
FLex 6700(2) and ANAN 100. all I can say I don't use the FLEX 6700 anymore other to do DUAL different BAND watch with its other SCU, this is a review of a operator perspective, First the software is fantastic you don't need any additional software like FRS,etc, etc, Plug and Play, I am a weak signal operator so of course I wanted to try it on 2 meters and compare it with my Flex and Kuhne 144 MHz transverter. well I have good news. its a la par of the Kuhne. Yes It does require an external Preamp for WEAK SIGNAL work on both the Flex and SUNSDR2 PRO, on 6 meters it worked like a Champ especially during 2017 June VHF contest. all I have to say is WOW this little pistol works great,
Support from the US is Fantastic From NSI RADIO Yuri in Washington State. and from Roman from its Russian HQ. any way, the price is fantastic and I even ordered its bigger Brother the MB1,(cant Wait for the MB1 to arrive, should be getting that soon. Catch you on the bands. Ps I am selling my EXTRA 6700. 73, Ed
N0GQ Rating: 2017-03-26
Amazing little box Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I've owned my SunSDR2 Pro for a bit over a year now. When I originally went shopping for an SDR rig, my criteria included at least two independent receivers, at least 5W out, ethernet (not USB) connectivity, and full software support for Linux, OSX, or both (it's silly to have to own a Windows machine just to use a radio). This rig meets or exceeds all of these requirements. The radio puts out a solid 15-ish watts on all bands, and the audio quality and filtering is exceptional. Don't be fooled by the simple exterior (one button and one light). I sold my Icom 756-Pro to pay for this, and as much as I loved the old Icom, this is a huge step up.

Less than a month after buying the radio, I put it into service as my Field Day rig (running on 100% solar power from a camp site by the Columbia River). Ran barefoot with 15W and a Z11 tuner to a Chameleon wire antenna in a tree, and worked everyone I could hear (well, to the extent anyone does on Field Day) on SSB, PSK31, and CW.

The provided software is solid, powerful, and easy to use. Setup (both the radio and the software) is trivial, and takes only a few minutes. Of course, tweaking all of the various settings takes time and energy, but it's straightforward enough. Works great with (open source) jackd to provide virtual audio cables (I use it every day with FLDigi) and (open source) socat works great as a virtual serial port for remote-controlling the radio with FLDigi (sudo socat PTY,link=/dev/ttyS6 PTY,link=/dev/ttyS7).

The radio is Russian, and while most of the docs have been translated into (more or less) English, speaking Russian (or making use of Google Translate) is helpful in tracking down some of the more obscure information about the radio and software, as many of the SunSDR2 Pro forums on the Internet are in Russian, not English. I speak zero Russian, and have gotten by just fine with Google Translate.

The US importer (NSI Communications) happen to be fifteen minutes from my home, and they're great people to work with.

Per the manufacturer, the large passive heatsink is more than adequate to cool the radio in normal use. I have a strong belief that cool electronics are happy electronics, and I run a lot of key-down digital modes, so I bought an 80mm 12VDC PC fan at my local electronics surplus shop and attached it to the top of the heat sink. The radio provides about eleventy I/O ports on the back that can be used by the radio and software for various things, including controlling a fan (the radio already includes a temperature sensor). Thus, now my fan automatically switches on and off as the radio heats up and cools off, and makes me a happier camper.

The radio works great with my spare Yeasu mic (left over from upgrading my FT-817 mic to one with a DTMF keypad years ago), though my favorite feature is that I can plug a high quality PC gaming headset (top of the line runs you about $75, a crappy one is $5) directly into the front of the radio without having to shell out a couple hundred bucks for a Heil. And the same headset works on my KX2, my laptop, and my iPhone. The provided software gives you independent transmit and receive audio filters, allowing you to "punch up" your audio like a high-end Heil element, or adjust for a nice broad sound for relaxed non-contest operation.

I only have two complaints with the radio. First, I hate the mini-UHF antenna connectors. They're extremely uncommon on ham gear, and the adapters are a pain in the butt. That being said, they do work just fine, but I live in terror of going into the field and forgetting the stupid adapters. Second, the software release schedule appears to be tied to the ice ages. OSX software has been promised since before I bought the radio, with zero sign of it thus far. And while there have been multiple Windows releases of the software in the last year, I haven't seen a new Linux version (even a beta) in something like six or nine months). Not the end of the world, as the current Linux software works quite well, but part of the appeal of an SDR is that new radio features require only new software, not new hardware, so getting a new software release can be almost as much fun as getting a new radio.

Would I buy it again? Yes. Without hesitation. It's a great rig, and small enough that I've taken it, along with a laptop, a small auto-tuner, a small power supply, and an antenna on vacation with me multiple times. While my KX2 is certainly easier to pack and set up, the ability to watch the entire band at once for activity, plus the remarkable filters, make the SunSDR2 Pro a remarkably neat radio.
N6GEO Rating: 2016-10-24
A good SDR value Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I've owned my SunSDR2 (not Pro) for over two years and after extensive DXing and contesting use, I really like it. I also own the E-Coder controller that I like better than the Flexcontrols. I began SDR on the SDR1000, then the 1500, and later the 3000. I like the ethernet interface better than those in my previously mentioned SDR radios and I've installed a dedicated card in my desktop computer to run the SunSDR2.
I find ExpertSDR2 to be a fresh take on the software. It can be resized on your desktop and runs pretty efficiently. I especially like the ability to continuously scroll across the band by right clicking anywhere in the waterfall and then rolling the trackball to the left or right. Similarly, right clicking in the frequency bar and rolling the trackball allows dynamic expansion or contraction of the spectrum range. The latest version of ExpertSDR2 (1.1.2) fixes the crashing I experienced with the earlier versions. It is good to see that Expert Electronics is maintaining their product. I really like the user defined filter because it allows me to set the RTTY filter with my mouse to just the right bandpass and where I need it. No more calculating shifts and offsets!
The rig does run warm so I've attached an old TenTec model 310 fan to the sink and it runs cool at 5W under RTTY while running a frequency. It drives my KPA500 to the low power limits allowed in most RTTY contests. The ARRL has recently provided a nice review of the unit. While the frontend may not be as "bullet proof" as other radios (and mine's before the Pro), I've run multi stations in contests at low power (100W) and found that a set of ICE filters on each radio was adequate to prevent interference. I'm looking forward to the remote access dedicated controller that is expected to soon be on the market.
MM0TWX Rating: 2016-07-24
Second review in 3 days Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
If you have read my previous review, you will have understood that I was bitter and frustrated, not with the product itself but rather with the supporting documentation.

After the radio went dead because I simply followed the reset instructions described in the manual, the UK representative sent me a replacement one in record time. Kudos to Martin Lynyh & Sons.

With further technical assistance from the said representative, I was then able to get the SunSDR2 Pro working. As expected, it is an excellent radio. The GUI looks and feels to me vastly superior to any of the competitors. Performance and useability are second to none.

To help fellow non-enigeers, and based on what I have painfully learned, I have written a short "Setting Up SunSDR2 Pro for Dummies" guide.


G3RCE Rating: 2016-05-26
Excellent, very versatile Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
This is a very brief non technical review
I have 3 radios,
Sunsdr2 Pro, Flex 6300 and an ICOM7300
They are all excellent but I prefer the Sunsdr2, especially like the GUI and recent update and it includes 2m.
The IC7300 follows closely for it's versatilty then the 6300 which is also excellent.
An excellent choice of SDRS nowadays.
UR5LAM Rating: 2015-01-13
The best Contesting & DX-iing Radio. Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I used full-loaded Elecraft K3 from 2007, but when I tried SunSDR2 DDC/DUC transceiver in comparison K3 in CQ CW WPX 2012, I sold K3 at next day.
This radio have incredible features in one small box:
- two receivers for semi-SO2R, with I/Q-out for two telnet-controlled CW-skimmers, line-out for record (for both radio), one or two programmable control console near PC-keyboards,
- many com-ports for both RX, for two foot switches, for two additional and two secondary keys,
- two VFO for SO2V-mode,
- incredible sound quality with exceptional AGC,
- tunable DSP-filters, it can be sharp or soft, but in any case filtering very fine and comfortable,
- superb transmit audio for SSB and ESSB,
- minimal rx/tx-delays allow to CW work comfortably at any speed,
- only one PC-to-SS2 LAN-connection (optional WiFi) for radio control, and using HAM-programs,
- user profiles allows enable needed mode by the click (SO2V, SO2R, SPLIT ....),
- very stable software (I'm using SS2 in CQ WW, CQ WPX, RDXC, UDXC and many another without any software problems),
- etc
- etc
- etc

Many thanks Expert Electronics Co for the HAM-Radio transceiver HighEnd-level quality.

SunSDR2 videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVOVfEvx6mE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3462HZxNnls
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_j7v6iEMyc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQQTNIvGADA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cMOaXQ1m8Y