Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Yaesu FT-991/991A

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Yaesu FT-991/991A
Reviews: 169MSRP: 1699.95
Description:
The FT-991 is the next generation in all mode, all band MF/HF/VHF/UHF
transceiver with C4FM (System Fusion) Digital capability. The FT-991
includes multi-mode operation on CW, AM, FM, SSB, and Digital Modes
(Packet, PSK31, RTTY and C4FM), with 100 Watts of HF/50mhz Capability
(50 Watts VHF/UHF). High-resolution full color 3.5" TFT Touch panel for
superior operability and visibility, High Speed Spectrum scope with ASC
(Automatic Spectrum-scope control) built right in. Internal High Speed
Automatic Antenna Tuner included in the package.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=D24F60F33816ED8BE5568D7E2B5E2131&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
54.41694
RV3APM Rating: 2016-10-18
Excellent transceiver Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Excellent transceiver - Yes, a bit complicated menu but covers all the interests of the Amateur radio hobby from HF to UHF
G6DFM Rating: 2016-10-13
Great Transceiver Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I had been looking at the 991 for a year now and the bad reports and experience of others had put me off purchasing one. My main rig is a FTDX 1200 which I have found amazing and would never part with but I have been missing 2m and 70cm. Three month ago I finally bought my FT 991 (Yaesu had just increased the warranty period to 3 years) and have been more than happy with it.
HF on air performance is virtually the same as my DX1200 the only difference's being not quite as good audio on the 991 (external speaker or phones cures this) but I find the DSP is easier to setup and use on the 991.
2m and 70cm performance is perfect and I often get complimented on my audio. I dont know why the 991 gets so many bad comments about band scan and waterfall display, it is as described in all the litrature and I have found it works perfectly for me especially since I updated the firmware to get the colour waterfall. All though I purchased the 991 mainly for VHF/UHF I have found I am using it on HF more than my DX1200 and of course living close to Heathrow and Gatwick airports if the bands are flat I can listen to the aircraft on airband.
I can't comment on reliability and would not dispute the problems others have had especially blown output stages, but of the half a dozen people I know who have purchased the 991 not one of them has had a problem, fingers crossed.
I think the arrival of the IC7300 less than a year after the introduction of the 991 has muddied the waters a little especially if you don't want the VHF/UHF bands.

John
KD7YHL Rating: 2016-10-12
close but no cigar Time Owned: more than 12 months.
This is my second review of the yaesu ft991. As stated before the radio has a problem with destortion on AM. The lower carrier level of 25 watts carrier works ok but not 100%. My radio also had a failure of low receive on amp 1 but yaesu repaired that under warranty. Over all i like the radio. When I purchased it I was sure disappointed in the band scope finding out it was not a full time band scope very sad. Since then i have purchased a new Icom 7300 what a nice rig excellent receive and quite and the the band scope is full time what a concept. The saddest thing about the ft991 is the fact that yaesu realized there mistake and is now coming out with the ft 991A with a full time band scope and that is wonderful but if you purchased your radio with the old style scope not so wonderful. The ft 991 has lost at least half there value if not more and will continue to go down in value faster than the ft 991A. I think yaesu should man up and give the original buyer of the early ft991 a sizeable rebate or take the older ft 991 back and rebate there money back so they could buy the the newer model or install the hardware to make the older ft991 band scope full time.(for free including shipping) I think the same as before yaesu used the public as a test guinea pig. Yaesu should have did more testing before putting the ft 991 out on the market Thinking this all over i will probably never buy another new yaesu radio.
IZ1GCN Rating: 2016-09-26
Yaesu FT-991 Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The radio as a whole is a very good radio in both the VHF and UHF hf part. Meet some limitations, it can not be expanded in the VHF and UHF bands tx (this happens in the version for the European market).
Great analyzer frequency limitation / waterfall that is totally unnecessary and does not work continuously as the competition radio (ICOM).
Consider that soon will be marketed the updated version of the FT-991 hopefully yaesu demonstrates attention towards its customers by offering them, through its official distributors, a hardware upgrade at cost price or almost. We'll see if it will be the yaesu brave enough to show the market that the customer satisfaction prevails to simple economic laws of profit.
A result of chance of these design flaws I would not give ratings discretamenti high or high to the product though invalid as a whole but not up to the competition in the same segment.
iz1gcn Roberto
VK6TY Rating: 2016-09-26
6 Months old Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
The FT991 has come in for much criticism some justified and some questionable .

Since the latest firmware upgrade I have found the performance to be second to none and right up with the performance of the
FTDX 5000 and the Kenwood TS 990, it has a very quiet receiver with a range of noise reduction tools that really work and enhance the received audio on noisey bands.
On 2 meters and 70 cm the performance is excellent

With the optional upgrade coming with the release of the FT991A to the waterfall and FFT making these realtime with out the loss of audio,this will be the iceing
on the cake with a Spectrum analyser that will function all the way up to 469.999 megs realtime.
K6BRN Rating: 2016-09-25
AM Works Just Fine on Mine Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
This is my second review of the FT-991. I just had to see if all the bad press regarding AM performance is true (on my S/N rig). Here is what I found:

ON THE AIR: No problem whatsoever. AM audio quality reports on the air were "very good" with no audible distortion - RX was performed by an ICOM IC-7300. 80% or better modulation was easily reached as shown on my waveform monitor (RFView signal tap to 100 MHz scope), under a variety of scope sweep and mic drive conditions.

ON THE BENCH: In casual testing (i.e. no written procedure and notes, for the Gadflys), modulation was easily driven into the 90% range with very smooth AGC action coming on line as I attempted to push the rig into over-modulation. No signal distortion was visible in the time domain under normal conditions, did not bother to check the frequency domain with a spectrum analyzer since the audio reports were uniformly good.

AM USER SUGGESTIONS: 1. Suggest you ignore user manual instructions for AM mode use. 2. Mic gain should be set to between 85 and 100 when in AM mode for good modulation, vs. 25-35 when in SSB mode (MH-36 DTMF mic), 3. The AM output power setting on the FT991 should not be interpreted literally, as watts. My power meter indicated 20-30 watts carrier on the maximum FT-991 AM power setting (40), depending on band, and 40-60 watts peak power when fully modulated. 4. AM RX tone can be adjusted to be very high quality by turning off AM high and low cut RX filters (menu items 41-44), setting the analog RX filter to 9 KHz and setting the Contour control to about 2700 Hz (and +15 level, 10 width, on menu items 114-115), 5. I ran AM mostly at 25 watts carrier, as indicated by my power meter and as recommended by Yaesu, but also tried carrier powers between 5 watts and 30 watts ("40" on the FT-991 power setting), with no apparent distortion and just a warm (not hot) rig case on the higher power settings (after some rag-chewing).

COMMENTS: 1. User manual suggestions for mic gain setting and ALC level movement will result in very low % modulation and are useless. The ALC level hardly moves under most circumstances, anyway - its always at the top of the "OK" range. 2. Contrary to many on-line rumors, peak power output kicks upward, not downward when the carrier is modulated (as it should) - the FT-991 PO meter wiggles a little bit and does not accurately indicate this - but an external peak reading meter does.

I am very curious about how Yaesu is using the ALC to throttle AM output power under heavy modulation - its not exactly what I'd expect. But I can't argue with the results - the TX audio and RX audio (once the RX filters and contour are properly adjusted) sound very good - far better than my old TS-440S. If there ever was a problem with AM on the FT-991, other than crummy user instructions, they've clearly been solved. (described unit is S/N 6G280XXX).

Brian - K6BRN
IK6IOQ Rating: 2016-09-01
Buono per il prezzo Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Ho colto l'occasione del ribasso del prezzo del 991 a seguito della notizia della prossima uscita del 991A pagando 999 euro comprese spese di spedizione meno i cento euro del rimborso Yaesu UK sono 899 euro netti.
Devo dire che per questo prezzo la radio merita un punteggio di 4/5 in quanto è piccola maneggievole, l'accordatore interno a me funziona, sono presenti tatissime funzioni interessanti nel menu (oltre 150 voci) e l'ottimo visore sensibile a tatto ed a colori funziona senza esitazioni di sorta.
Il ricevitore è molto sensibile e funziona discretamente (certo il mio TS590SG va un tantino meglio) ma qui stiamo parlando di un quadribanda e con radio dello stesso tipo deve essere confrontata.
Sorprendente il DNR soprattutto in CW ma anche in fonia senza esagerare ripulisce di molto i segnali.
La potenza erogata è senza compromessi, la radio resta tiepida anche dopo ore di funzionamento in TX.
Insomma forse 1400 euro appena uscita erano troppi ma ora con 899 euro è tutta altra musica mi sento di dire UNA PICCOLA GRANDE RADIO grazie Yaesu per la sorpresa e la spesa !!
DJ3MQ Rating: 2016-08-30
ok , but not a hammer Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
This thing will do what i want , but not more.
Receiver is good ,new colored Waterfall is
only cosmetic for a joke . The menue is a surprise , but over all them ,Yaesu brings the new FT-991A next month after 16 month FT-991 production to the market . I losst 40% of my money . Price goes rapidly down from the FT-991.
Is this a serios faktory ? Thank You Yaesu .
Hope Ten Tec came back .
WB5LFV Rating: 2016-08-26
perfect beats them all hands down!! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
wow wow wow!!! this is it a perfect radio that has it all, all band all mode! and is super duper cool with color touch screen and is not too big or small. it has super strong receive and has a nice dsp filter and the notch works great! so if you want it all shack in the box rig this is it!! and costs less and you get two more bands all mode over the icom ic-7300...
K7RFI Rating: 2016-08-22
Great radio!! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I am a yaesu fan, but thought the 991 might be a little small!! but after getting used to the memorys
it is one of the best i have owned. I have a yaesu ft 950 kenwood ts 940 and the ft 991 this radio has the best receiver that i have used in 40 years!
I do use 2 external speakers with upgraded 5 in.
speakers. the dnf and dnr work great. I get good audio reports with heil hc-5 headet.