Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Alinco DM-30T

Category: Power Supplies

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Alinco DM-30T
Reviews: 7MSRP: $149
Description:
Alinco economic 30 amp peak 20 continuous supply with Anderson Powerpoles, large LCD continuous V/A meter on the front, and posts on the back.
Product is in production
More Info: http://
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
0073
N2AYM Rating: 2018-07-24
Alternative Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I do not have this supply but am simply making a suggestion to all you hams that like to complain and whine. There are always alternatives to such problems as to the bogus power pole arrangement.
You can always make a power pole pigtail to convert from the stock bogus setup to the ARES arrangement. So there is NO real need to pull apart the supply and re-arrange the stock power pole setup.
KQ4KK Rating: 2018-07-07
Power Poles still WRONG Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The Power Poles are still mounted wrong. Stopped by the ALINCO booth at Dayton 2018 and showed them on their own floor model. They said, Yea they knew it was wrong, but were not going to change them any time soon.

----------------------
Earlier 3-star review posted by KQ4KK on 2017-06-14

I should have looked closely at the photo. The Power Poles are mounted across, not + and - as ARES standard is. And I don't think the cheap connectors are made by Anderson.

Yes, you can take you new supply apart and reorient the power poles correctly so they are ARES correct and the + and - sign on the supply is correct, but then you cannot push in the pin to hold them in the mount. When you reorient them correctly in ARES mode and set them so the pin can go in the mount and hold them, then the markings are wrong on one connector.

Never liked Alinco HTs.. now I remember why.

Be careful out there.
KA5Y Rating: 2018-07-06
Nice supply with issues Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I like the supply but he fan is way too loud. I installed a motor speed control on the back of the supply and now can turn the fan off or control the speed.....no longer a problem. Here's a link to the speed control...https://www.ebay.com/itm/1Pc-x-DC-1-8V-3V-5V-6V-12V-2A-Low-Voltage-Motor-Speed-Controller-PWM-GZ/192567210884?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

Next I'll change the powerpoles to the correct config. Nice supply with the mods. MTC had them on sale for $90....
AG6EF Rating: 2017-05-14
Nice Supply. Minor issues. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Definitely 30A on the Power Poles based on the internal construction.

It only took about 30 min to fix the arrangement of the power poles. Take cover off; detach front panel; release power pole panel mount; pull out roll pin; rearrange power poles; reinsert roll pin and reassemble.

Because I don't trust the panel mount Power Poles (they tend to become intermittent) I built a Power Pole Y-Cable (45A pair to two 30A pairs).

The DM3-0T is quieter than a similar PowerWerx SS-30DV supply that has no meters.
KN4G Rating: 2017-04-19
Nice Supply BUT Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Nice supply from what has been a good Japanese company but this product is made in China. Works as expected but wish I'd known about the Power Pole configuration. It won't work with any side by side +- plugs. I'm hoping it can be reconfigured to match standard configured 2 pole cables.
K8JK Rating: 2017-04-18
Strange powerpole arrangement ruins nice supply Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I cannot recommend this power supply to anyone.
If I would've really understood the power pole arrangement before I bought the supply, I would've never bought it!
It's a nice supply but the connector arrangement is just silly !
K2GT Rating: 2017-04-10
Good For The Money Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The DM-30T is a new low end power supply from Alinco.
Pros:
Reasonably priced (can be found under $130)

Nice large LCD meter on the front which shows voltage and current draw at the same time.

Anderson Powerpoles on front

Adjustable voltage (7.7-15v) and noise offset controls.

Cons:
Really loud fan! My iPad app shows it added 5 db to ambient room noise. The IC-7300 fan for comparison adds about 1db.

Powerpole rating unclear. Instructions say 30 amp max, various retail websites say 5 amps and Alinco did not answer email.

This power supply is good for someone who wants an inexpensive supply for a 100 watt radio and is not bothered by the fan noise.