Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Alpha 87A

Category: Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Alpha 87A
Reviews: 97MSRP: 6500 + shipping
Description:
The Ultimate Linear Amplifier
Product is not in production
More Info: http://www.rkrdesignsllc.com
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00974.8
K7LFY Rating: 2018-08-20
An okay amplifier but ages poorly Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have had 3 87A's. The first was incredible (reliable) and I still have it after one return to the factory for repairs due to aging and corrosion. The other two I tried to add to the station never worked well. One had RF choke issues and would fry the choke on 15 meters if you weren't watching and went to 15 on auto-tune. The third one never worked well - ever...all were purchased from Alpha. I finally traded the last two in for a 9500 - an even bigger mistake. See my review on this turkey. The 87A is not a really good amplifier because of the weird tubes used. They are not available and very expensive. Better and cheaper amplifiers are available and many cover 6 meters which is another big Alpha failing in general. While I like the 87A it is really only a fair amplifier and the remote software is a joke. Don't even consider trying to have it out of the shack. Again - much better and cheaper options are out there today.
KE4AMQ Rating: 2018-03-28
I love it Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have a alpha 87a its sn 99xxxxxx so it is one of the last ones made with all upgrades. I did encounter a problem with the amp where it was in fault 1 because of a resistor that was blown on the hv board. Other then that the amplifier is amazing, auto tuning, so many safety features its unreal. This is one of the alphas you could put a brick on the key for 24 hrs. Watch the 6 part video on you tube with W4ETO talking about this amp, well he is the guy who built it. I have had many amps the 77dx the 77sx 374's al1500's and al82's and the 87a is the best.
KH6VP Rating: 2015-07-28
Wonderful linear Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
While visiting a friend who used to be a ham, I found this gem hidden under magazines stuck on the stairs leading to the attic and the shack. I got it for a song.
Since I already have a TenTec Titan linear (with two 3CX800A7 tubes - just like this one), I thought it would be an interesting comparison.

I got the transformer and the tubes out (man, this amp was full of dust), and got all this shipped as luggage to my QTH.
I cleaned, turned it on and got an error message. An email to RKR designs (who supports Alpha amps) got a code sent to me to unblock the linear. The code was uploaded via the serial interface.

Because of the computerized control, there is no way one can damage this linear. It will even tell you when a cable is not connected to the RF output and will not even let you transmit or anything.

Output power is similar to the Titan, it can do 1500W from about 55Watts in.

Great linear and it should last a long time. Just connect it and forget it.

Well worth the money!
NI7F Rating: 2015-05-31
Love my 87a Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I bought my Alpha 87a new 20 years ago. It has been a workhorse and has never failed me. I have looked at the new Alpha 9500 but concluded why spend any money when the 87a has been the perfect HF amplifier.
OH6RP Rating: 2014-01-14
Best Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Excellent amp. Support received from the factory fast and professional assistance with problems.
W6DDU Rating: 2013-12-25
the best amp ever Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
got mine about 8 mo ago. you cannot beleve the signal reports i get. this amp is great. i am one of the net control ops on MMSN 14.300 so it gets used a lot. i also chase dx get one you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
W5DXE Rating: 2013-12-21
The Best Auto Tune Amp Ever Built Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The 87a is without a doubt the best auto tune amps ever built. Period. Only thing I would of liked to see is vacuum relays as well as something better than the Pin Diodes they use. Still... far and away the best ATA out there.
W4LWZ Rating: 2013-12-21
Super Amplifier Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I bought this amplifier from a friend a couple of months ago. I have used it for general rag chewing and in a couple of contests. I absolutely love it.
This amplifier has really renewed my interest in amateur radio. This is not the first amp. I have owned, but it is by far the best.
NN4SS Rating: 2013-12-21
Fantastic Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have an Alpha 87A that I purchased in 1992. It has worked flawlessly for over 20 years & still looks & operates like brand new. Same tubes, same everything. CW QSK is totally silent and all you have to do is transmit to change bands. Takes about 60 watts for 1500 watts out.
KB0UGS Rating: 2013-12-08
best investment ever Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Never realized just how good the Alpha amps were till i bought a used 87a with less than 20 hours on it....wished i would have done it along time ago...