Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Comet CA-2x4SR

Category: Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Comet CA-2x4SR
Reviews: 46MSRP: 69.00
Description:
CA-2x4SR
VHF/UHF Dual Band Antenna
1.5:1 or less SWR:
140-160/435-465MHz
Gain: 3.8/6.2dBi
Max Power: 150 watts
Length: 40 inches
Connector:
PL-259
Fold-over hinge included


Product is in production
More Info: http://www.cometantenna.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
15464.8
KJ4FGI Rating: 2019-11-05
Outstanding on UHF/VHF and GMRS Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Have had this for 11 years, very low swr on all uhf/vhf and GMRS. Outstanding for GMRS Search and Rescue GMRS frequencies.
W2XAD Rating: 2017-05-10
Great antenna Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have 2 of these antennas and they work great for me. Just one catch.
Put some sort of Gorilla glue where the center coil transformer goes into the antenna. You can knock it loose. I hit a low hanging branch at 60 mph and the ring let loose. I re inserted the ring tightly then Gorilla glued it. It still works like the day I bought it 4 years ago.
K4XXX Rating: 2017-04-20
Best antenna I've used Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I purchased this antenna winter of 2013 and fender mounted it on my truck (I know, I know...).

Quick background: Ham and Fire/Rescue, so I use this antenna for both services, as well as GMRS.

Immediately I noticed an improvement over the jetstream dual band antenna and the 5/8 vhf whips I've tried and compared the antenna to. Fast forward, I magnet mounted it on the roof, and as expected it performed even better! So much so I bought a second and put it on the fender mount and had the one mag-mounted on the roof. Fast forward again to spring 2016, I got a back rack on my truck and mounted the antenna on the middle top of the back rack and it performs wonderfully. I can really notice a difference between a normal Larsn 5/8 wave UHF antenna vs this antenna on UHF deep in the mountains of eastern Kentucky. Vhf is untouched by 5/8 wave whips, this antenna out performs them in my experience. I purchased the spring as on my 2500 Ram, on top of the back rack, this antenna sits very high and trees don't play nice with antennas. So far its held up against low branches, low over passes, and whatever else it has hit.

I would recommend, and have recommended this antenna numerous times to folks. Works great for both ham and public safety operations.
K7DB Rating: 2016-07-09
Three years later -- still working great! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
This is just an update on my 7/31/2013 review... in 2013 I was using this antenna with a Wouxun dual-band handheld radio, and with this Comet antenna I got excellent results

It's three years later, and this antenna still works great. It's on a different vehicle now, and I'm usually using it with my Yaesu FT-857D.

Bottom line: this is a great antenna that is put together well, and can be expected to deliver years of service.
W8ARR Rating: 2016-03-18
Excellent antenna Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I bought this antenna from Universal Radio to complement a Juentai JT-6188. The main reason I bought it was the advertised gain on 2 meters. I needed to hit a certain repeater that hosted the local traffic net. The previous setup I had would not hit the repeater from my grand kids house. Seeing that the Juentai had an RF output of 20 watts I needed a good antenna.
The Comet CA-2x4SR antenna met my demanding requirements with ease. I was able to log into the traffic net with no issues, full quieting with no static or scratching. I recommend this antenna to other hams in my local area and I recommend it to you.
KA5IJZ Rating: 2016-01-08
Astounding mag mount Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Signals come in from almost everywhere on 2m and 70cm, signals never heard before on my Tram 1185 dual band mag mount. With even just the 10 watt mobile rig that I use, signal reports always amaze me from some pretty far points. Best money every spent on a dual band mag mount. I purchased the pl259/so239 mag base model and quite satisfied. Very recommended dual band mobile antenna.
W9DPY Rating: 2015-11-01
Very Good Ham, Great General Coverage Antenna Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Had this antenna just over a year. I run all NMO mount variants of Comet, Diamond and Larsen antennas for mobile applications. Used to use a Diamond K400CNMO mount but bought a Comet CP-5NMO with this antenna. Construction is great, no flaking of the paint or breakage anywhere including the fold-over. This is in central Texas where the weather is challenging to say the least. Performance wise, it's a very good 2 M/440 antenna and a great general coverage antenna. This is compared to a Diamond SG7500NMO I own. The Diamond performed better on the ham bands but is no where near as broad banded as the Comet. As an FYI; the Comet performs better in both roles as my Larsen 270 and my Diamond NR770HNMO. If you are looking at ham band only performance, there are slightly better performing antennas but the Comet really shines on it's ability to cover both ham bands and as an Rx antenna for scanning, public service work, etc...
KC4YLV Rating: 2015-11-01
A nice dual bander, great for scanners too Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Picked this up for $3 at a hamfest, guy said "coil's broken". Outer housing was cracked; 2-part epoxy made short work of that. Had to resolder the tap where the capacitor connects to the coil in the base as it'd gone bad. After I did this and shined up all the connections, giving great performance as expected. SWR doesnt really bottom out anywhere but it has ridiculously wide 1.5 and 2.0 SWR bandwidth, just megahertz after megahertz of nice 1.3:1 match.

I run mine fixed, with a homebrew mount and four radials angled down about 60 degrees (had to bend them down a bit more than normal for best match). Splendid thing to hang one of the swiss army knife dual banders off of, or if you want to scan 460 public service. Not too shabby at 800 rx either, though I don't have real test gear beyond scanners for up there.

Considering it was probably 10-15 years old when I paid THREE DOLLARS for it and spent 20 minutes fixing it up, very impressed. Would strongly consider buying a new one if I needed to.
W5BXY Rating: 2015-08-10
The best I've found! Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I bought this antenna to replace a Larsen NMO150c (2 meter) which I have had mounted on my pickup tool box for a year. I constantly had problems with the Larsen mount shorting at the coax input point after repeated repairs to it. I installed the Comet CA-2x4SR (Dual band) and absolutely love it. No problems, the coax input is sealed and fits perfectly, SWR readings across the band good right out of the box,well made and excellent receive and transmit functions. I intend to buy another for my car. I give it a 5 in all areas.
N7EWC Rating: 2015-01-06
Great mobile addition! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The radio is only as good as the antenna system connected to it...I have had my comet 2x4 for 3 years now and have put several thousand miles on it! Norfolk to Georgia almost every month. The finish is just like when I bought it at the Winterfest in Richmond. Two winters in Norfolk and one in North Eastern Georgia, definately an tough antenna. Ive even wacked it coming in the garage too early several times, still works like a champ... Ive never see what the radiation pattern on this is but I can imagine it to be flat on top and long all around. Ive never had any luck picking up fly by SATs but can break through to repeaters 40 miles away and receive them even further. If for some reason if I had to buy another one id buy the same exact one.