Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Yaesu FT-8900R

Category: Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held)

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Yaesu FT-8900R
Reviews: 171MSRP: 469.95
Description:
10M, 6M, 2M & 440Mhz Quad Band Radio with Dual Band Receive.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.yaesu.com/amateur/pdf/brochures/ft_8900r.pdf
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
221714.2
KD5GGG Rating: 2003-07-04
Great Radio Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Just installed this radio in my truck with a remote install.

The cable is easily made by using a 6 wire phone cord and change one end so the wires are correct.
Saved me the cost of the kit from Yaesu.

The intermod rejection is best I have seen.

Installed with a Ex 510 triband antenna but am having bad luck with 6 meters. Am going to get the quad band antenna to correct this.

This radio has performed excellent so far.
KD5HIY Rating: 2003-06-22
Amazing Radio Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I think this radio is just a real work of art. Really the only thing i don't like about it is, it is only an FM Radio. You Can access the entire portion of 10M, but on the FM Side ONLY.

73
KD5HIY
Chris
Bryant AR
KU4AA Rating: 2003-06-18
Cloning Software Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I've just installed my FT-8900R with a Diamond HV7A antenna onto my wife's car--it's a great transceiver! The Mrs. thinks the "pitchfork" antenna is "funky," but she sees how much fun I'm having with this cool radio, and she doesn't mind! This is my first experience with 6m FM, and the installation does a great job. Hands down the best mobile transceiver I have had the pleasure to own.

I've received word from RT Systems technical support that their new cloning software for the FT-8900R has been forwarded to Yaesu for their approval before going on sale, so availability should be very soon! Keep an eye on the Vertex Standard (Yaesu) website or visit www.cloningsoftware.com for announcements.
K5VJB Rating: 2003-06-16
I LIKE IT! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Great radio. Does everything I want. When I was shopping for a replacement for my Alinco DR-140, I was going to go for the Alinco DR-605T. I opted for the 8900 because I already had a VX-5R and am pleased with it. I've also noticed the audio problem when coming out of cross band repeat, but that's not a big issue with me. I'm using the FT-8900 with the Diamond HV7A antenna. Rig works really well.
DO1YJW Rating: 2003-06-15
nice Trcvr. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Hi,

i use my FT-8900 now for just 6 Days and found 2 things mysterious:

- when pushing the PTT in 2m-Band i can hear a little click from the relais switch. When pushing PTT in 70cm thereĀ“s nothing to hear--- why ?

- After disabling crossband repeater feature my signal in simplex mode was bad. The station on the other side, described my signal 85%noise/15%voice. After switsching off and on the TRX worked well without problems --why ?

Thanks for your answers.
vy73
Jens

W4KRR Rating: 2003-06-07
Good rig! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Just got this rig a few weeks ago. It replaces a Yaesu FT-7100M. My '7100 suffered from many of the complaints that many others had reported with this rig.

The FT8900 performs better than the FT7100, there is no "motorboat" noise when scanning, and I haven't had the rig lock up on me like the '7100 sometimes did. Plus, I really like the cross band repeat function, which the '7100 didn't have.

However, there are a couple of things I don't like about the FT8900. First, the LCD display is harder to see when viewed from the left side than the display on the FT7100 was. Also, the volume, squelch, and tuning knobs feel very loose and have a lot of "wiggle" to them. And, if you're right handed, when turning the left display tuning knob, there's no way you can do this without your hand or fingers blocking the display so that you can't see the frequency. Resching over with your left hand is difficult while driving, if the rig is mounted to your right side. This wasn't a problem for me on the FT7100 because the tuning knob was on the right side of the display.

Despite this, I like the performance, the cross band repeat function, and still prefer this rig over the FT7100.
VR2YHA Rating: 2003-06-07
8900r commemt Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
It is a good mobile tranceiver,but I do not like the relay sound when PTT and no backgound light for all function keys.
KA9SQV Rating: 2003-06-03
AEWSOME radio! Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
My 8900 works great! It does everything that it is suposed to do and then some.

I first installed a Comet SB-15 because of the decent gain it had and I was willing to sacrifice the 10 meter side. But I could not get the SWR down on 6 and 10 mtrs. (BTW - initially I did not have an SWR meter to check 10 and 6. I assumed, that it was a non-adjustable antenna that it was OK. WRONG - SWR on 6 Mtrs was over 7! And, yes I transmitted on 6 under these conditions trying to raise a contact and no damage to the radio!)

I replaced the SB-15 with a UHV-4 and it works GREAT!

The cross band capability is aewsome.

I did a stealth instalation in my Ford F-150. The head is installed in the eye glass holder over head. Other than a remote speaker on the sun visor, no radio is visible from the outside. I will be writing an article for QST on this instalation soon.

BTW - I was on the fence between the Kenwood D700 and the Yaesu. I studied the reviews for about 3 months and everything pointed me toward the 8900 for value, features and quality.

Now I need to get a Yaesu quad band HT to double my fun!

73's
Bret
KA9SQV
Neodesha, KS
YO2LYI Rating: 2003-05-22
Great Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
My own oppinion about this rig is great.
I just sold my Kenwood TM-d700 and bought this one.
The tm-d700 was a very expensive one and thus do not perform like the quad bander FT-8900.
After all the tests I done, I have to tell that the Yaesu is much more competitive at the half price.
73
W7VI Rating: 2003-05-22
diappointed Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Bought my FT-8900 about three weeks ago. The main use is for mobile. Worked great while working had one ten mtr contact and used it on the repeater with great results. Went on a trip and within 300 miles of the trip I think my finals went out. So I did a 2800 mile trip with no radio. Basically it is a great radio. My problem just happen maybe the final were not up to spec.?
One disappinting theing is that it does not have the 10 mtr repeater functions; or I can not find them. Right now my FT-8900 is on its way back to Yaesu for repair will report on what caused the problem when I talk to Yaesu. I have been a Yaesu user for over 25 years . Steve, W7VI Reno