Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: The Finger Dimple

Category: Ham Shack Accessories

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : The Finger Dimple
Reviews: 33MSRP: $6 for two
Description:
A simple, inexpensive, and effective add-on for rigs with VFO knobs lacking a 'spinner' dimple
Product is not in production
More Info:
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00335
K2BEW Rating: 2014-11-09
A great and cheap accessory to any radio. Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have one on my Kenwood TS-520, and I had one on my Yaesu FT-450D before I sold it. A correction to reviews saying it is plastic, it is actually machined aluminium, and the Elecraft web site mentions it is machined. And as already mentioned you can only buy it from Elecraft, the listing needs to be revised removing the fingerdimple website that is a bad link.
It does not actually spin, I thought when I first bought one it was two pieces so that it actually would spin as you held it down with your finger. It is really a single piece of machined aluminium with adhesive on the back. Even so, it works well and does not hang up while you turn the knob with it. 73, Tom K2BEW
KC0W Rating: 2013-03-30
Good Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Finger Dimple's are now being sold by Elecraft. You no longer receive two of them, you just get one. After shipping it will cost right around $8 - $9.

Purchased one an a TS-850 many years ago. I just ordered some more recently for my K3's. I'm using external VFO's (Griffin Technology's)for my K3's and 'da Dimple makes spinning the external table mounted VFO quite enjoyable.

The product is not rocket science, it's simply a piece of plastic with adhesive on the back. Not much can go wrong.

If you have any questions regarding setting up external VFO's for your K3, email me.


Tom KC├śW




N1EZH Rating: 2013-02-25
Simple and works great! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I purchased 2 of these for my Kenwood TS-140S & TS-680S respectively a few years ago. What a Simple and Great little device! I used to have to grab the edge of the Tuner Knob and Spin them forever to get to a frequency! With the Finger Dimple it makes it so much easier! Highly recommend it if your Rig's Tuning Knob does not have one.
KD5FX Rating: 2010-08-22
Great! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Works great on my TS-850S/AT! It makes tuning the bands so much easier...
K6SDW Rating: 2008-03-25
What he said Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Makes tuning the K2 soooo much better!
N3HOE Rating: 2008-03-25
Required Equipment! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I have two matching Alinco DX-70 HF transceivers, so each got a FingerDimple on the main tuning knob. They look just as if the factory had designed them right in place. Consequently, both operation and appearance of my twin transceivers has improved very nicely.

Ham radio manufacturers really ought to include fingertip divots on large tuning knobs as part of their original design considerations. BUT--they should use only the genuine FingerDimple product!
BEAM Rating: 2007-07-14
Economico e Indispensabile! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
E' il classico uovo di colombo che migliora moltissimo l'ergonomia su quelle radio che hanno la manopola di sintonia piatta.

E' un valido aiuto alla sintonia, specialmente nelle HF, e io ho pensato bene di attaccarne uno anche sul mio Griffin PowerMate!

Un accessorio semplice ed economico ma che io adesso reputo indispensabile!!
KG6EJT Rating: 2007-02-24
Simple, but great! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I've used one on my TS-140 for several years now. What a great idea. So simple, but so helpful!
VR2XMQ Rating: 2007-02-23
Great Stuff!!! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have 4 finger dimples that have been used for several year without a hitch. Great stuff!!!
OE3JTB Rating: 2006-12-30
very recommended Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
bought two for my TS-950 SDX and TS-850SAT, a new feeling, quicker frequency change, it makes the difference.
73 Alex