Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Yaesu FT-1802M

Category: Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held)

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Yaesu FT-1802M
Reviews: 87MSRP: 199
Description:
The Yaesu FT-1802M is a ruggedly-built 2 meter transceiver with 50 watts of RF output. It features extended receive from 136 to 174 MHz. It has illuminated front panel keys and boasts 221 memories. There is also a 10 channel NOAA weather bank. You get CTCSS and DCS Encoder and Decoder circuits. The FT-1802M even has a unique a CW trainer to practice Morse Code. It also supports one-touch access to Yaesu's renowned WiRES-II Internet Linking System. There is a security password to help prevent unauthorized use.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.yaesu.com
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
14874.1
AA1TC Rating: 2006-10-06
Still Going Strong Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I have had this radio for over 6 months and it is worth every penny. can not be beat. Great Audio and transmit reports. 136 to 174 MHZ recieve with the NOAA channels. I am buying a second one for my other vehicle and a third for the Base Station.
N8MRC Rating: 2006-10-03
Good little cheap Radio Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Great little radio for the price. I paid $139.99 shipped brand new...can't really beat that. I had it programed, mounted in the mobile in about 2 hours. Lots of features, I keep the manual in the glove box. I don't have a problem with heat..i usually keep it at the 25 watt level. CW trainer is kinda cool along with the Temp display. All in all if you need a cheap well built 2m radio this is it. I've owned the FT-1500M and I'ld rather have the 1802. One thing that Yaesu is good for is the @#$%$ RJ connector for the mic...
DF3FX Rating: 2006-09-29
Good TRX Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Hi all,
I own this TRX since a couple of weeks and bought it for my holiday QTH where i Only need VHF.
I knew Yaesu from VX-2 and FT 7800 radios I'm very happy and satisfied with.
The only things I don't like on the 1802 are mostly because I'm used to use my FT7800 so that its mostly the difference in handling.
The only Problem i got is that I cannot put the same functions on the 4 Mic buttons P1-4 as on my FT7800 which causes me some handling problems ;)
For example you don't have the possibility to put Memory read access to the programable buttons on Mic.
They should have put the little Packet conenction like on FT 7800 on the 1802 and Air Band receive.
But for the rest i cannot complain over all for try to find somethng equivalent for this cheap.

Generally for Yaesu I wished they ould make a free program to program memories for all actual radios .

regards

FĂ©lix

P.S: Sorry for my bad english
KI4NWK Rating: 2006-09-19
Good receiver but overheats. Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I bought the FT-1802M after reading the reviews which were all fairly good.I liked the receive as it is very good with little or no noise.The transmitter is great with good signal reports and great audio.The only big proublem is the heat factor.
I had to send the radio back for repair three times.Understand the radio would overheat and shut down after short period of transmitt. The tempiture woud reach the 175f mark then shut down.repair was sucessful last trip out to Yeasu.The temp.is still high but unit does not shut down now.
Use your on judgement.I bought an Icom.
KI4NWK
NORTHCOUNTRY Rating: 2006-08-30
good bang for the buck but can run hot Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
What can you expect for $140? The radio works and gets out. I had a problem with the radio getting hot. I have exchanged it for a Yaesu 7800 which has a fan. The 1802 is what I would consider a quicky rig that is very cheap and good for quick mobile transmissions. If your afraid that your radio will get ripped off from your vehicle this is a good cheap one that wouldn't be much of a loss. My application is as a base station so the service requires more duty.
K4TGC Rating: 2006-08-10
OUTSTANDING! Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Built Tough, Easy to operate. High Quality Radio and a great price. Yaesu continues to produce the best. Highly recommend this radio. I have had it for 6 months and it performs great. The Mic features make this Radio fun and easy to use on the road. The Weather Alert and CW Trainer are added bonuses. Glad I bought this Rig.
DJX Rating: 2006-07-04
Excellent Bargain Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The FT-1802 has to be one of the best bargains on the amateur market right now.. I was in need of a simple 2 meter mobile rig and based on the information I read about the FT-1802 and the excellent reviews here at eHam, I decided the 1802 was the best choice for me.. I am glad that I made the 1802 purchase..
The little rig is very well built, user friendly, and it is a great performer.. The FT-1802 has a great receiver and the transmit audio has received good reports too.. The rig is straightforward, easy to use, and the menu is easy to navigate.. Programming memories was a breeze..
The FT-1802 simply works and works well.. Like other operators have mentioned, the rig does get quite warm when operating in the high power setting..

Bottom Line:
The FT-1802 is an excellent 2 meter rig, and at the current price it is an excellent bargain.. Possibly the best bargain available throughout the entire amateur radio spectrum of equipment from accessories to HTs to top end HF rigs.......
N4KC Rating: 2006-06-25
Value shoppers? Here 'tis! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I hate to be one of those guys who buys a new piece of gear then rushes onto eHam the day its installed to post a glowing review...usually just to stave off buyer's remorse. But here I am, two days after opening the box and installing the 1802M in my vehicle, giving a glowing review. For $135, how could you go wrong? Well, I'm a tight wad and I can think of plenty of ways, but this ain't one of them! At least not yet.

I'm impressed with the heft in such a small package (it seems to be a tough little son of a gun), and with the ease of programming. I have a Yaesu HT that takes eight button punches and three dial twists just to program in a tone, but this rig is a snap. 'Course, I'll keep the manual handy in the vehicle, just in case. Love the weather station option with just one button push. That alone almost won the XYL's blessing. Thank goodness somebody still puts a squelch KNOB on a radio! And multiple xmit power options, all programmable into memory channels.

When I made the first contact on a local repeater, the other station commented positively on my audio immediately, even before I told him it was a new radio. Another ham familiar with my voice broke in to make similar comments.

The mic buttons are hard to hit with my fat fingers (and it's hard getting used to talking into the side of the mic with the buttons on it, but I do like being able to turn the backlighting on the mic buttons on or off), I'd like bigger guage DC cable for 10 amps (I'll use something else when I install it correctly, all the way to the battery), and I can't seem to find anywhere that I can order the little mobile mount to easily move the rig from car to car. Other than those picked nits...

Great value! Need a second or third 2-meter rig for other vehicles? Or something for the desk at home? Here's an affordable monoband option with few (if any) sacrifices.

73,

Don N4KC
www.donkeith.com
KI4DOG Rating: 2006-06-16
Worth it Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I have to admit I love this radio. I use mine at work in a very electrically noisy environment. This is the only radio I have that will squelch out the noise. It has an RF squelch feature that you set in the menu. Works great. I get great audio reports as well. Haven't found much of a use for the cw trainer, but it isn't eating anything so who cares? I also have ICOM, Kenwood, Radio Shack (cough), and Alinco radios. All are good radios but I feel I got the best value in this one.
W0VET Rating: 2006-06-15
News Flash Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
NEWS FLASH: The Quick-release mount accessory for the Yaesu FT-3000M fits perfectly on the FT-1802M. :)

This little but very tough rig is extremely easy to program and to operate. It is ideal for mobile and portable use.