Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Heathkit AT-1

Category: Transmitters: Vintage amateur

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Heathkit AT-1
Reviews: 12MSRP: 29.95 kit
Description:
Heaths first CW kit Transmitter. 80 to 10 meters.

25 watts input to 6L6.
Product is not in production
More Info: http://
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00124
AB3MO Rating: 2016-12-11
A Classic Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
A Ham classic. Perhaps more Novices got on the air with this than almost any other transmitter -- EVER! W1ZAK LOANED me his after he became a General Class.
-
Never got an RF burn.
-
December 2019 QST has a retrospective review of an AT-1. Never realized it had so many intrinsic problem, but was never "bitten"!
-
Good rating based on the era of use. Today, would = ? perhaps.
K2GBH Rating: 2012-07-26
Affordable Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
The AT-1 , AC-1 and VF-1 comprised my second transmitter set up in June 1954. The first was a homebrew 6AG7-6L6 so this was not a really big step up!

Back in those days, power was measured as the final's input. I think that we all would have been shocked if we knew how little power out the 6L6 audio tube was generating -- especially above 7 Mhz or megacycles as was the terminology used then.

At least I stated off with a decent receiver, the Hallicrafter SX-28.

'Affordable' was paramount for a newsboy's income!
N1BIC Rating: 2012-04-10
First transmitter Time Owned: more than 12 months.
In 1954 I got on the air as WN0WLS in Wichita, KS. The AT-1 was rock bound and I chased CW stations with a drifting Hallicrafters S-40B receiver into a folded dipole and a home made vertical out of the Handbook. I was 13 years old at the time.

I had a ball and now have over 50 years of amateur radio under my belt. The AT-1 was the most exciting. I souped it up with an 807 final with the help of my Elmer, Des Stanton (W0SPF - SK).

I still have an AT-1 and a S-40B, but now it seems like a lot of work compared to new radios.
AC7DX Rating: 2007-05-12
Great beginner Time Owned: N.A.
My first transmitter in 1954 with a Hallicrafters s-40B.Xtal control on what I think I remember was 7180 in the novice band as WN0TMI in Wichita Kansas.
What a blast
73
Ron
W0EAJ Rating: 2007-05-12
First of the Best Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The first xmtr. I ever used - look up K6NCG on Google and see the young sailor in front of a "rebuilt" one. Just a year ago, I got a basket-case (no exaggeration), built it as a new kit, and used it on Straight Key Night w/my HBR-11 receiver. Just finished "resurrecting" a VF-1, so "Hey Mom! No more xtals!".. So simple, it taught volumes to the young Novice... especially about the hazards of cathode keyed rigs - OUCH!
N7QF Rating: 2006-12-19
My very first xmtr Time Owned: more than 12 months.
This was my very first xmtr. I was about 16 then.
I remember getting an RF burn from the feed line once. I liked its simplicity and it worked.
W5LXG Rating: 2006-12-19
Wish I had it back Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Moved into an apartment and without room for antenna. Had about 30 feet of wire, stuck one end in the antenna output (phooey on SWR and ignored having a ground). Threw the wire on top of a metal carport and called CQ. Since the meter moved, I assumed I was putting out juice. First answer was Tahiti. Found myself broke and had upcoming date, so sold my AT-1 for $20. Now at age 65, can't remember the girl, but wish I had my AT-1 back.
K7UA Rating: 2006-07-21
Fun old rig Time Owned: more than 12 months.
A ham that was moving gave me an AT1 in about 1969. I was a general then and played around with it as a second or third rig. It had a bad capacitor that killed 20M. I fixed it up and had a lot of fun. In the spirit that I received it, I gave it to a young kid as a new novice in about 1972. He is still licensed 30+ years later so I guess it was a good investment.
W0CKI Rating: 2006-01-10
Wish I still had mine Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I was a new new ham in Omaha Ne, licensed in 1954 and at the ham club 1954 Xmas party won an AT 1.
Brought it home, my Dad was with me, also a ham, and we thought, well what do we do with this? He had 8 zillion watts, a big antenna and also was a big time DX dude. Any way we built it, worked great and I had a ball with it for, I really don't remember how long I used it. Sure wish I had it today, those were great years!!
W8UDX Rating: 2006-01-10
Book Ends Time Owned: more than 12 months.
As I sit here tonight learning all of the miraculous functions and features of my new, pre-retirement, Orion II, I only have to glance up and see my AT-1, AC-1, and VF-1. Of course, the S-38C still completes the functions of my first “shack” from the early 1950’s. As incredible as the Orion II is, it will never have the impact on my life that the AT-1 had. That simple three tube transmitter opened up the world to a 10 year old kid and, because of what ham radio gave to me in my formative years, helped shape my values and goals for the rest of my life. The Orion and the AT-1 symbolize, to me, book ends to my professional life. I know that I could get many hundreds of dollars for this “rig” on e-bay, but, its value to me is immeasurable. And, it will always be the central focus of my operating position.