Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Kenwood TS-950SDX

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - non QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Kenwood TS-950SDX
Reviews: 63MSRP: 4599.95
Description:
Rough Diamond
Product is not in production
More Info: http://www.kenwood.net/products/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
15634.9
EA1KI Rating: 2006-02-15
Simply the best Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Wonderfull radio even comparing to those today┬┤s top ones.
Great reception, nice reports always.DSP works in a manner a never seen. Notch is a notch, I mean what you expect for a notch.
I have got a good antenna , but I can hear 3y0x much beter than friends of mine with good antennas and a 7800.
I love this rig and think none in the market today coul beat him.
Have one if you can and need the best rig ever
KM4BA Rating: 2006-02-03
It's as good as they say it is! Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I've never been a big box fan, but when a good friend offered me a mint TS-950SDX to play with for a while, I had to give it a try. When he made me a killer offer to make it mine, I had to take him up on it!

I have to say, the SDX is every bit as good as you hear. Myself, I don't think I've operated a rig with a quieter receiver, better selectivity, and excellent transmit audio.

The dual filter chains make for less distortion and easier listening than the newer, fancier DSP only rigs. Yet the SDX DSP funtions are there when you need them. (I use the high cut the most, and do not see the need for a narrower filter for SSB)

Having recently used FT-1000D & MkV's, I think the SDX is right there with them in terms of overall performance, and I might even prefer the SDX RX.

I think this rig is one of the classics which will have a very long life. It might just be the pinnacle of the analog radio range.

Again, I never thought I'd be a big box guy, but for me, the SDX is all I need.

Have fun,

Alan
km4ba
26TRC155 Rating: 2006-02-02
Best Radio Ever Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I have owned my ts-950SDX for around a year now, I am only using a 90cm e+h antenna tuned for 11m. Even with the bad prop we have now i can still have QSO with stations that other peole in the UK with Yagis cant hear . I always get good reports on my audio, I am using a Kenwood mc90 desk mic. People are suprised to hear that i am not using no external EQ or processing. I have had other radios like ts-430S, ts-140S, ts-50S. I then Bought the Yaesu ft-1000MP-MKv Field, I didnt like the Yeasu and after 2 months i sold it to buy my ts-950SDX.. I will always stick with Kenwood now, and they will have to Build some thing special for me to get rid of my 950SDX
W3ART Rating: 2005-03-16
Best of the Best Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Over the years I have had five different HF sets. A TS-430, TS-450, TS-870, Mark Five Field, and a TS-950sdx. For my type of operations,90% ssb,the TS-950sdx has done the best.
WA2ECA Rating: 2005-01-26
What a great rig... Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I have owned my TS950SDX for about 2 months now, and if I had known it was this good I would have bought one a long time ago. The noise blanker is fantastic, the receiver is excellent, well beyond what I had expected. The flexibility of the filtering is amazing. The audio is so pleasant to the ears. I constantly receive compliments on my transmit audio. (That's a first!). 150 watts out. All controls on the front panel. I have not found a single thing to complain about. A five star rig!
2E1RDX Rating: 2004-12-28
Very Pleased Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
well I have had the 950SDX for about 2 months now and can't really fault it in any way very nice received audio and excellent reports from my transmitted audio
the receiver is well equiped for removing interference and the noise blanker works excellent my previous radio IC756proII had a 5/9 qrn signal that it could not cope with but the 950 has no problem
at the current 2nd hand price here in the UK they are a Bargain
73 Ian 2E1RDX
WB6Q Rating: 2004-12-10
Maybe the best radio ever made Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have used or owned almost every tranceiver through the years with the exception of the Icom 7800. The very best ssb tranceiver I have ever used is the Kenwood TS950SDX. I rate the Yaesu 1000D slightly better on cw but the Kenwood is still the best overall. Early model serial numbers needed the processer mod done but other than that it is a truly a remarkable tranceiver with that wonderful Kenwood audio.

I talked to a friend of mine who sold his Kenwood 950SDX to purchase an Icom 7800. He says he loves his new 7800 but the 950SDX is a far better radio for weak signal work on 80 and 160 meters. Now that's saying something! Combined with my SM-230 station monitor needless to say I don't think I will be buying an Icom 7800 anytime soon.

Dick WB6Q
AC6IN Rating: 2004-10-14
nice radio Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Love the 950 SDX its been a great radio for the last decade or so.
K9VDD Rating: 2004-08-17
BEST RADIO KENWOOD HAS EVER MADE! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I bought my TS-950SDX new in 1994. To this day I cannot find another Kenwood product to beat it! Years back you could always look for the BIG THREE - Kenwood, Yaesu, & Icom to go head to head each year or so, with a new offering. After the TS-950SDX it appears to me that Kenwood simply stopped competing. The other two have continued to come up with better rigs, and Kenwood seems to have just been content with run of the mill products. The TS-480S is a joke and the TS-2000 is a flop by TS-950SDX standards. My TS-950SDX continues to be a workhorse with my TL-922A amp and will stay in the shack!! It has earned it's salt!!
KD9MF Rating: 2004-08-17
ok radio, but NOT the best. Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
well, to start off, the noise blanker is useless.
the audio from the 940sat is much better. 150 watts out or so, closer to 125. the rx on my 1000d is better, plus i can use the rx on another band which you cant do with the 950sdx. this is said with my having the above radios actully in my possesion at the same time. the rx sensitivity is right up there, i never had a problem with it hearing the weakest signal. transmit audio is great, typical kenwood style. sold mine to a ham in italy.
kd9mf