Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: DD-103 Universal Digital Dial

Category: Ham Shack Accessories

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : DD-103 Universal Digital Dial
Reviews: 19MSRP: $100-$125
Description:






Digital LCD readout for vintage radios and most transmitters



Product is in production
More Info: http://www.electronicspecialtyproducts.com
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00194.6
VK6NSB Rating: 2018-06-02
Trouble calibrating on all bands Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Calibrated it on 40mtrs on my TS 520s but it's out on other bands. Not sure if there's an internal adjustment to calibrate it on all bands
K3MEJ Rating: 2017-02-22
Disappointed Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
DD-103 frequency was not even close when connected to external VFO.
Manual is poorly written.
Tube shield adapter was missing.
Does not provide package tracking
Does not respond to emails.
Terrible customer service.
K2ZBA Rating: 2015-08-23
Easy and accurate Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
Bought one of these to use with my Kenwood TS-520S. It was easy to set up and works great. I would buy another. Seller was easy to work with. I bought direct from his website.
AB3EN Rating: 2014-06-04
Great with Drake TR-4 Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Ordered the DD-103 with interface cable. Plugged into the TR-4's bottom VFO plug and turned it on. Works as promised. Shipped fast and simple to install. My type of product ;-)
VK2HV Rating: 2014-04-10
Excellent Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Have had this for a few days now and it is a great unit.Well made and runs smooth with my FT-101e
KF5WFL Rating: 2014-02-10
Great Little Tool Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Love this little guy! Easy setup on my TS-520, accurate to the last digit. Really updates my hybrid boat anchor. Don't have to worry about analog dial slippage. Checked it against WWV and it was smack on. ESP has setups for many old analog rigs, so you can use the great old rigs with confidence. Wonderful for the digital generation and old guys with antique eyes! I recommend it for any analog rig ESP makes the setup for, and they have instructions for those they don't. Worth every penny.
KB4MNG Rating: 2013-06-19
Great Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I purchase my dd-103 off ebay. It is awesome with spot on accuracy. I have several boat anchor radios and will be using this for a long time.

Currently it is on my Kenwood 520S. Once I calibrated the DD 103 to the radio, it is super accurate and as accurate as the DG 5.

Once I learned the programming, it is easy...
N1KK Rating: 2012-06-27
Update Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I am updating my review. I received a RF preamp
from AADE. As I understand it the DD-103 was sold
on their site at one time. I requested if I could
purchase the RF preamp for the DD-103.
The preamp was not designed for the DD-103 however
it could work the same way by using the 5 volts
on the coax cable just like it is done to power
the included tube shield interface.
I removed the tube shield and mounted it on
the RF amp board. The slight gain of 4
offered allowed the DD-103 to work up to just
about 30MHz.

If both the emitter and RF amp boards where included
I would give this unit a 4 rating but since it
didn't I can't, however confirming what it needs
to fix my problem I am giving it a 3 rating.

If the SP-200 was on the programmed list and it
had a feature one of the AADE displays
has auto I.F. offset select based on frequency,
I would give it a 5

Ken
N1KK
W6PUG Rating: 2012-04-11
Really nice aid for Halli SR-500 Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Ordered the digital display / arrived faster than expected. Installed per instructions. Display did not immediately work; emailed provider; received email and answer within 10 minutes (was a reposition of dip switch D) ... recalibrated easily and works flawlessly. Product excellent/service excellent/performance excellent - what more can anyone ask! Well done!
VK2LC Rating: 2012-03-28
Best for old radios, great service Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I bought 3 so far, had one doa but Ron refunded part payment as it was only a simple repair. Cant ask more than that.

Basically you program it, calibrate if required and just use it. More reliable than the Kenwood DG-5 and cheaper than a used one on ebay (with 30 year old problems)

I use it on Yaesu FT-101E and on my TS-520 & TS-520S

Sharp display and easy to use