Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: AB5N - Icom HM-151 - IC-7000 mic. modification

Category: Microphones for ham radio

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : AB5N - Icom HM-151 - IC-7000 mic. modification
Reviews: 159MSRP: 39.50
Description:
Modification to the Icom HM-151 hand microphone that comes with the Icom IC-7000. This mod fixes the poor FM audio that this microphone and radio combination has from the factory. The modification replaces the mic element and a capacitor, adds a shaped acoustic foam shell, widens the mic opening, adds a wind screen (pop filter) and a 1oz weight to the microphone shell.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.7000mic.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
151595
KB8SB Rating: 2014-03-25
Great mod at a reasonable price. Time Owned: more than 12 months.
During a recent QSO while using my IC-7000 with its matching HM-151 mic, I was given a report of very poor audio and strength. My pwr and mic gain levels were at 100% but I still had little or no ALC deflection. I heard about Bob's (AB5N) modification for the HM-151 so I sent the mic to him and it was returned in less than a week. I am now getting super reports with the mic gain set at 50% or less. One option Bob offers during the modification is the addition of a 1oz weight in the mic. I highly recommend this be done. The weighted mic feels so much better in your hand.
THANKS Bob for making a poor mic into a great sounding one.
K8MSH Rating: 2014-03-12
Well done! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Quick turn-around. Did audio mod and fixed flaky PTT. Works great, sounds great. Highly recommended!
KG6IYX Rating: 2014-03-01
Great audio and output power! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I had the Japan version of the HM-151 and have battled to get any kind of output. Even setting the IC-7000 to max power the best output I could achieve was <5 watts. Never made an audio QSO. Simply said, my rig was being used for non-voice modes only.

Sent my mic to Bob, and he did the upgrade and rapid turn around. Now I have a mic I can use, quality audio transmissions, and getting out with full power when needed. Not to mention, the 1 oz weight in the mic makes it feel stable in my hand! It was way too light before.

IC-7000 users, this upgrade will not disappoint. 73's

Wish I would have done this years ago.
WB5VUH Rating: 2014-01-20
Excellent audio Time Owned: more than 12 months.
This review should have been written several years ago when Bob, AB5N, first performed the mod on my MH-151.

Anyway, I can's say enough nice things about the mod that Bob made and "continue" to get great audio reports when operating mobile with my IC-7000 and the Scorpion(tm) antenna system. The combination of both have helped me make many contacts that otherwise would have been more difficult.

I think you'll be pleased too based on his success of the mod and his attention to detail and customer-relations. The way that best describes my feelings is "THANKS BOB", GREAT JOB.
KC1AKV Rating: 2014-01-08
Excellent improvement. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The turn around time was unbelievable I had it back in NYC from AK inside of a week. When I took it out of the box it felt like a different animal. It had nice heft and balance that it did not have before the addition of the weight. It is amazing what 1 oz can do to how something feels as any pool player can tell you regarding a cue. Another nice touch is a direction sheet which tells you where to set the tx. On my monitor the audio quality is vastly improved. Because of the way I speak and the fact that I close talk my mic my s's have a bit of a hiss which tho improved was still slightly there so I covered the mic hole with a piece of sock and that problem is solved. I need windscreens on all of my recording devices. I highly recommend this mod.
N1HID Rating: 2014-01-02
Best Combo For Mobile Use Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I got a used but new IC 7000 and I think the reason may have been the audio quality from the unmodified HM 151 that the previous owner sold it. I have got good reports from the modified mic using it as a mobile rig. I'm hoping Icom is reading these reviews so they can correct the problem.
K8ESE Rating: 2013-11-07
Fantastic service! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Like many other hams, I just got a new ICOM 7000 and needed the microphone improvement modification performed on it....I contacted Bob and he was very helpful while answering many of my questions regarding this radio....I sent the microphone in to him...two days later, he sent me an Email with the modification done and it was on route back to me....Wow!...got it back quick and works fantastic...I strongly recommend having Bob perform the modification on your IC 7000 HM-151 hand mic....cost is very reasonable also....and the mailing is handled very quickly!....Thanks Bob!
W4TEQ Rating: 2013-06-27
Priority for IC-7000 owners Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
I have owned my IC-7000 for about 5 months now which was an upgrade from a 706mkiig. Having always gotten good audio reports from from the 706, I noticed they fell off with the 7000 and the local guys I chat with complained regularly about a very thin sounding audio with no presence compared to what I previously had. Heard about this modification so I took the 40$ chance. Wow! The customer service was outstanding and the turn around time was within the week...regular ground shipping both ways. Audio reports and signal are way up and no more complaints. I held off on purchasing a desk mic for base ops and glad I did. Thanks AB5N..well worth it and a must for any 7000 owner.
GM1PVD Rating: 2013-03-24
Must be done Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Envelope of parts arrived in UK within a couple of weeks, Bob had to wait for spares his end, I was modifying the Chinese version. I watched video once and thought looks straight forward. The video makes the components look huge in comparison to when you start. Watched again and paused while I achieved each step. Came to the end, tested and it worked first time, the instructions are great.

The results are exceptional the gain can be turned right back and the compressor on setting 1or2 at most. The audio clarity is much better and I added some shot in the cavity at the back so it really feels like you are holding something of substance.

All in all first class, go for it!
EI8KF Rating: 2013-02-26
Straight forward but essential mic mod! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Kit arrived in post on Friday morning and by Friday evening I'd watched the instructional video and plucked up the courage to perform open mic surgery on my Japanese HM-151. The operation took about 45 minutes and despite the fact that I have difficulty soldering PL-259's the op was a great success. I left the mic in recovery until the following day when I tested the mic on HF in the car on a drive up to Dublin. I got good audio reports and worked more stations than I would've normally suggesting that the extra drive in audio output made a real difference!
If you're thinking about doing this mod but are, like me, a bit of a butcher when it comes to electronics, well... don't panic! This is a very straight forward, easy and rewarding mod. If you don't even own a soldering iron send it to Bob to do the work for you! Either way it's an essential job to get the best out of your IC-7000...!