Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: AB5N - Icom HM-151 - IC-7000 mic. modification

Category: Microphones for ham radio

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : AB5N - Icom HM-151 - IC-7000 mic. modification
Reviews: 159MSRP: 39.50
Description:
Modification to the Icom HM-151 hand microphone that comes with the Icom IC-7000. This mod fixes the poor FM audio that this microphone and radio combination has from the factory. The modification replaces the mic element and a capacitor, adds a shaped acoustic foam shell, widens the mic opening, adds a wind screen (pop filter) and a 1oz weight to the microphone shell.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.7000mic.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
151595
OZ1BV Rating: 2009-08-18
A really good modification Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
This is a really great modification of the original microphone. The output has increased, but most important for me: I now get much better (honest) modulation reports.
The CD, with the instruction video, makes this modification really easy to implement - a brilliant way to do it!
Great job, Bob
73 de OZ1BV/OX3IO, Brian
WB5ONA Rating: 2009-08-05
A wise decision. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I check into several HF nets nearly every day. Beginning with the first time I used my new Icom 7000, I was told my audio didn’t have the same punch as my older set up. Within the first week using the 7000, I decided to get the AB5N upgrade. Now, I get great audio reports and several hams have remarked that I sound more like I do in person. I highly recommend the upgrade and following transmitter settings advised by Bob. It’s foolish to have a great radio and short change operations with a poor mic. Before sending the mic, I set up the radio with different transmit filters, power, etc., and noted meter readings on the transmitter and external tuner. With the upgrade, and same settings, output levels greatly increased, as much as 50%. I've listened to others with the upgrade. They sound great. Bob (AB5N) returned the mic in less than one week from my mailing, but I must point out he’s in a neighboring state. Check out his web site: www.7000mic.com and his videos on YouTube. You won’t regret getting the upgrade.
5P9A Rating: 2009-07-30
Impressive ! Good work Bob, TU Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Ordered the kit Dx'ed to Europe (comes without the 1 oz weight) - arrived some 6 days after the order along with the instruction video on a CD.

Took about one cup of coffee to do the mod's needed, the instruction video is great to help out here and the mod is very simple to do. Another cup of coffee and a day after I had the small lead beads also to put in (used lead beads for fishing line, some 30-40 in total, but I had to find them first :-)) - it really adds to the right feeling of the mic. No squeeking or rattling after the beads were added - but you also have to pay attention to getting the beads fully coverered in hot glue (it's also noted out in the video, don't worry).

On Sideband the output increased from 25W to some 70W on a reference mic audio setup (pseudo random (broadband) noise about 15 cm from the mic, front & center), with compression off and mic gain set to default 50%. There's a lot of audio drive now even with the ALC settling to a farily low level.
Have not measured FM frequency deviation, but the subjective feedback is great. I can't wait to try this out on Sideband DX-ing also; Look out - here I come :-)

Good work Bob - my compliment to a job well done!
73s, Brian 5P9A
VK2VHF Rating: 2009-07-21
Awesome Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I ordered the kit and completed the mod myself. The supplied instructional DVD is very easy to follow.

The mod is not hard to perform and I completed it in about 1 hour allowing for the glue to dry. It was fun. Audio is now crisp and punchy.

Must also add that Bob's service is 10 out of 10. WELL DONE BOB.

For a mod so simple I really cannot understand why ICOM have not changed the design after 3 years. They are lucky that Yaesu do not have an IC7000 equivalent....yet!
KB8DFK Rating: 2009-07-07
Just do it! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
If you have an IC-7000 with the HM-151, do yourself a favor and send it to AB5N Bob! The difference is night and day. Excellent audio reports on both SSB and FM, and a much nicer feel with the optional weight added. Like others have said, AB5N has a fast turn around time and emails you with full details through process of receiving, modding, testing, repackaging and shipping notification. You get your old components returned and you'll get the drive you need out of your mic! People can hear me now! Just send it in, you'll have it back in a flash! Thanks Bob AB5N!
W1SMC Rating: 2009-05-31
Great Audio Reports Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
All I get now are great audio reports.

I would highly recommend this upgrade.

I also recommend having Bob add the 1 oz. weight. The mike has a better feel to it.

Pros: Inexpensive, quick turn around, great service from Bob.

Cons: None.
TERRY_PERRY_EX_W3VR Rating: 2009-05-21
Works well Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Best $35.00 I've spent in a while. $35.00 won't buy much these days. Bob Nagy's mod is well worth the money.

W3VR
WA4FUU Rating: 2009-05-21
YES! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Prior to purchase, I read the many eHam Icom IC-7000 reviews; praising the radio overall, but at the same time complaining about the low level of transmitted audio. I purchased my Icom IC-7000 just over a month ago, and it too HAD low transmit audio. Just after receiving the rig, I entered into a simplex 2 meter QSO with my good friend Louie who clearly knew my voice, both personally and via my Yaesu FT-8800R. His first comment was "what have you done to your audio, it has a lot more bass". Another friend, Rob, chimed in, agreeing with Louie. Louie's next comment was "Man, not only does signal have more bass, but your audio is way down as compared to Rob's; when Rob came on, his audio blew me away! I didn't realize that in order to hear you, I had turned up the volume so high". That pretty much sums it up. I made a few more contacts, both on 2 meter FM and on HF SSB and AM, receiving the same low audio reports. I further confirmed low audio and reduced power via my station monitor. I sent Bob (AB5N) my HM-151 mic on Wednesday and received it on the following Monday; great turn around from Pensacola, Florida to Pearcy, Arkansas and back. His workmanship is top notch and his modification to my microphone yields exactly what he promised.... GREAT audio.....(everyone who knows me personally says it sounds just like me) with reduced bass, and twice the level of deviation/modulation as it once had. Many thanks to you Bob for delivering quality/expedient service at an affordable/reasonable price.

73, Richard
KA4AAA Rating: 2009-05-07
Wonderful! Fantastic! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I don't know what else I can say that others haven't said. I sent my HM-151 to Bob on Friday, I had it back in my hands that next Wednesday. I even screwed up somehow (overexcitement??) and ended up short-changing Bob by $7.10, the return postage. He sent the mic anyway! (I did send a check immediately)

Upon using the mic on 40m and 6m phone -- out of six short QSOs (just to test the mic) -- three of the QSOs actually asked me what model Heil mic I was using and it sounded just incredible!!

If you have an IC-7000, or thinking of purchasing an IC-7000 -- get this mod done. This little rig is a fantastic unit and with the AB5N Mic Mod, it is an absolute top notch unit!

Save your $$$ with a separate, expensive microphone. Send it to Bob. You'll be glad you did! Of all the knick-knacky things I've purchased for my shack -- this is up there as the best of the best (and I love my SignaLink USB -- I should have had this mod done FIRST!)

Thank you, Bob.
W3RXO Rating: 2009-04-25
Amazing improvement!!!! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Bob did such nice work to my HM151, that I almost feel like I wasted money buying the adapter for my Heil Traveler, to use on the 7000. I am a cross country truck driver, and told Bob what my situation was. Not only did he do the fantastic modification, but he tweaked it in a manner as to make it almost totally noise canceling, while retaining the high quality audio that he promised, on his website, and in his YouTube videos (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gs6P2rX6rCQ). This is a modification every 7000 owner ought to have done to his/her HM 151. I can't say enough good things about Bob's work. I also had him modify my 2-HM-133's (one from my IC-V8000, and the other from my IC-2720), the reports from the locals on my "home" repeater are that the difference is a great improvement over what the mic previously was, on either of them. I am very happy with all 3 of them, and will return to Bob for more work, if I ever need another Icom mic modified.
BTW-before I found this review category, I created another for Bob's work, under the Amateur radio service category. Other than this last couple of sentences, it says exactly the same.