Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: TAK-tenna

Category: Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : TAK-tenna
Reviews: 146MSRP: 198 USD
Description:
High-frequency antenna for 3 to 30 MHz., inclusive

TAK-tenna is Unique and has been awarded U.S. Patent.

Radiating elements use proprietary copper jacketed alloy

Rotatable - Portable - Stealth - Primary & Restricted
Space

Very easy to assemble

Sturdy and well built with low wind load
Weighs only 5 pounds
Very small footprint

>p>TAK-tenna 80 Multibander has a 48 inch boom
All other models have a 30 inch boom.

Direct feed with 50 or 75 ohm coax on resonant band
User chooses resonant frequency
Use coax + antenna tuner...or twin lead + antenna tuner for
off
resonance operation

Power tested to 1000 CW watts at resonance
Key down for 30 seconds and 1400 Watts PEP
no heat sensed on antenna wire or coax feed point when
touched by
hand
after power testing

High efficiency = NO lossy matching components anyplace
in
system
Directivity = 10 to 14 dB signal increase in transmit with
90
degree
rotation with horizontal orientation
Vertical orientation provides omni-directional pattern

Shipping world wide

Product is in production
More Info: http://www.tak-tenna.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251464.5
K6SGH Rating: 2008-09-20
TAK-Tenna 40 vs Screwdriver Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Recently, I operated as W6S, Rover 2 for the 2008 Route 66 On The Air. I wanted a portable, quick to deploy antenna for 40 meters. Previously, I had used a 40-meter hamstick but was very much dissatisfied with the performance and the poor bandwidth. I saw an advertisement for the TAK-Tenna and contacted the company to acquire one for the event.

The antenna came shipped in a nice thin box and was a pleasure to build. I put the antenna on a 10-foot pole to tune it to 7.266, my operating frequency for the event. It was a bit tricky to tune at first, but then it all clicked together and I soon had a 1:1.5 match at 7.266mhz. Initial comparisons to my 40-meter wire at 70 feet were quite acceptable. The TAK was a few S-Units lower, but at 10 feet it was about what I would have expected. I made additional tests and was quite pleased with the TAK’s performance and decided it would be my main 40-meter antenna for the event.

My first opportunity to use the TAK was at Amboy Crater. I had the antenna on a 20-foot fiberglass mast. The TAK worked wonderfully. In fact, I had the opportunity to compare my signal with Harry's (W6R) who was operating a screwdriver antenna from his trailer. I was told that my signal was quite a bit strong than Harry's and Harry later told me that he could barely hear some of the stations I was working. For a 30-inch antenna on 40, the TAK is truly amazing.

I worked many pileups on 40 meters over the next 5 days. A great number of my contacts were amazed that my signal was being generated by a 30-inch dipole antenna. I was amazed at how many 59+-signal reports I was receiving. On my side of the antenna, I was able to copy both strong and weak signals alike, as the TAK is a very quiet antenna.

I am sold on the TAK and would encourage anyone interested in a compact 40-meter antenna to purchase one. It is a wonderful antenna.
You can see pictures of the TAK during my trip at www.k6sgh.com/rte66_2008/journal.htm

W6S (K6SGH)
N3SCR Rating: 2008-09-18
Works Well as a Vertical Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I purchased a 40-meter Tak-tenna a couple of months ago and I initially installed it off the side of my roof at about 15 feet high. I worked several Europeans with 100 watts and their received signal strength was approximately 1-2 S units below my quarter wave sloper which is installed at 30 feet, is over 30 feet long, and has the benefit of working against a 35 foot tower. I was impressed!

I have since set up a different installation which is more acceptable to my wife and easier for me to work on. The Tak-antenna is now just 11 feet off the ground mounted on a wooden 4 X 4 post. I am using a Yaesu FT-817ND at 5 watts with the Tak-tenna now. My first QRP (CW) contact from Maryland was with a station in Michigan…… he was running 20 watts into a GAP vertical… I sent him a 589 report and I received a 579 report…… That is very encouraging indeed! The Tak-tenna is installed in the vertical configuration and it hears extremly well compared to my sloper, again just 1 S unit below the sloper; however, I have not been able to work Europe ( I can hear them just fine) with just 5 watts of power.

It did take a while to get the antenna tuned up but here is the bandwidth with my current set up (SWR at the radio): (7.000 MHZ – 1.2 : 1) (7.150 MHZ – 2.0 : 1) NOT BAD!!! No tuner needed for the CW sub-band!

I am looking forward to chasing states on 40 Mtrs with QRP power and the Tak-tenna!

Thanks for a neat little antenna Steve!


KC7MF Rating: 2008-09-07
I like mine Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The antenna arrived quickly and was really easy to assemble. I tuned it using a 10 foot pole, one ladder, an MFJ tuner and a wife. It took about 30 minutes to tune. I have had it about a month now and am very happy with it. I have made several Mid-West and East coast contacts from Arizona with the hot side pointed east. Without moving the antenna I have contacted Mexico City and points in the North West. All on about 70 watts. So far I have only used it on 40 meters. The SWR is flat on 7.210 which is perfect for phone. The tuner handles the rest.
I have it up 25 feet about 10' above a stucco house. I am thinking about a rotator for it. Just curious. This antenna is a compromise for sure but it is a good one.
K6PH Rating: 2008-09-07
Great limited space antenna! Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
My 40m model went together in about an hour. Tuning was a little tricky and took a little longer than I thought it would, and really should be done using an analyzer, not just an SWR meter. I have it mounted on a 12ft fiberglass pole in the backyard, and have been using it with my FT-817. 59 reports, mostly SSB from the 4 corners of the 48 states and Canada. No DX yet. Very handy and convenient in limited space!!
KB3IFH Rating: 2008-08-24
A Real Performer Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I wanted to add my 2 cents to this review since I've owned the antenna for a little while now. I've even placed a series of pictures from opening the box to final assembly on my website at http://www.bcpink.com/KB3IFH/Antenna.html . I Can only tell you it took me 2 hours, not 90 minutes to assemble, but I enjoyed every minute. hi hi! After assembly I placed the anntena on a 15' TV Antenna mast, ran with 450 ohn ladder line (as you can see in the photos) into a Palstar 4:1 Balun and into my Palstar AT1500CV tuner. Also using a TenTec ORION II for the xmtr. I am able to operate flawlessly on all bands as advertised, local and DX. QSO after QSO with no trouble. No this isn't a 3 element beam, but it's a fantastic antenna for restricted areas, portable operations, camping trips, or you just wanna have fun.

73's
Randy
KB3IFH
www.bcpink.com/KB3IFH
N4CT Rating: 2008-08-17
AMAZING LIL ANT Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
THIS IS NOT YOUR OLD GOTHAM OR JOYSTICK JUNK. I AM SURPRISED HOW WELL THIS THING WORKS. I HAVE COMPARED IT TO MY 3.5MHZ INVERTED L AND IT HEARS JUST AS WELL ON 7MHZ WHICH IS THE TAK-TENNA MODEL I HAVE. TESTED IT THIS MORNING ON 7MHZ SSB WITH MY FRIEND LES, K4DY AND GUD SIGS BOTH WAYS. IT EASILY TUNES ON OTHER BANDS....WHETHER IT WORKS THAT WELL ON OTHER BANDS I DON'T KNOW YET. I THINK IT CAN PASS FOR A WIFI ANT WHICH IS ALLOWED IN THIS RESORT. I MAY TRY ONE AT 150' AT MY HS0ZDR QTH.
K7NNG Rating: 2008-08-17
excellent Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
Taken to task by another ham over coax radiation vs antenna. I placed 4:1 balun in line, no substancial change in signals with balun in place. Took balun out of line, signals the same.
Antenna is at 20 feet with a tailtwister for direction. Using homebrew tuner, and a Alinco DX77t that a friend let me use. Varied power from 5 watts to 100 watts with and without balun, and made lots of good contacts, mostly 4 and 5s some 6s from Denver on 80 20 and 40 mtrs.
I also use this antenna to monitor two major airports Towers, grounds, approach and departure on a scanner thru a antenna switch. I have a 120 foot dipole fed with 450 ladder with a 4:1 in system which does just fine, but the Tak-tenna does as well. I have a R-7 which is like not having a antenna at all compared to the TAK-tenna.It is coming down this weekend with help of friends. I tell you guys, for a antenna that is not supposed to work all that well, the TAK-tenna sure has my attention. It is now my primary antenna.
I am in a home for the useless and aged now. I am experiencing a memory loss problem, but I am able to stay on the air because of my physical room layout in relation to trees and my little patio, and a very nice nurse. I may dribble from my mouth, but I am in ham radio until I die. I have 24 hours a day to play radio.
My only regret is that I did not run onto the TAK-tenna sooner. Its a winner.
KI6PYZ Rating: 2008-07-31
It really works. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Have made contacts on 40m,10,and 20 in several states and always rec. good signal reports. Putting the antenna together was a snap (even for a 75 yr.old novice. Took about 1 hr. A little tricky to tune but when done it works like a champ and it is only 21 ft. from ground. It can be used horizonal or vertical. I'm using it vertical. I am using a MFJ-945E tuner with my FT-897 100w PEP. I got the following readings using a MFJ-259B analyzer (analyzer is a must). 7.175 swr 2.0, 88% match, 7.200 swr 1.6, 94% match, 7.225 swr 1.3 97% match, 7.244 swr 1.2 98% match, 7.250 swr 1.3 97% match,7.275 swr 1.5 94% match,and 7.300 swr 1.9 89% match. The manufactor TAK-tenna (WA2TAK) stands behind his product and will help you on the phone with any problems you have. He (Steve Tetorka) is not satisfied until the customer is satisfied. Great service. Any questions you can email me at my QTH jwbstr33@verizon.net
KI6PYZ

KB2EZV Rating: 2008-07-30
Africa first QSO ! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I assembled the Tak Tenna and mounted it 6' off ground (as manual suggested to facilitate adjustments). I tried it at this height just to see if it would work. Well, I was surprised to get a 57 signal report in Senegal Africa ! It sure works !!!
I think it's a great product and well worth the money. I can't wait to see what it does at 10 or 20 feet !
2E0PJR Rating: 2008-06-13
Well worth the cost Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I have had the TAK-tenna 40 for a few weeks now.It was easy to build (just about one hour).I used a TRIO DM-801 DIP METER to resonate it about mid band on 40m. It was put on a 10 foot pole with a rotater and fastened to another pole which only gave it about 15 feet above ground level.It worked very well and stations in some locations which I could hardly hear before were much clearer. I tried other bands using a Yaesu 840 with the Yaesu FC-10 automatic tuner and it tuned 40m with no problem but on other bands(20-10) it was a little high on the swr. I tried a KW E-ZEE match antenna tuner on those bands with high swr readings and with a bit of fiddling about it bought them down to about 1-3-1.So not too bad.I'm now waiting to get a 20 foot scaffold pole so I can mount it on the side of my QTH at around 30 feet and above the ridge of my roof.This antenna is well worth the cost and is small enough for any location without being obtrusive.Thanks to Steve and the guys. Regards, Peter. (2E0PJR)