Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: TAK-tenna

Category: Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : TAK-tenna
Reviews: 146MSRP: 198 USD
Description:
High-frequency antenna for 3 to 30 MHz., inclusive

TAK-tenna is Unique and has been awarded U.S. Patent.

Radiating elements use proprietary copper jacketed alloy

Rotatable - Portable - Stealth - Primary & Restricted
Space

Very easy to assemble

Sturdy and well built with low wind load
Weighs only 5 pounds
Very small footprint

>p>TAK-tenna 80 Multibander has a 48 inch boom
All other models have a 30 inch boom.

Direct feed with 50 or 75 ohm coax on resonant band
User chooses resonant frequency
Use coax + antenna tuner...or twin lead + antenna tuner for
off
resonance operation

Power tested to 1000 CW watts at resonance
Key down for 30 seconds and 1400 Watts PEP
no heat sensed on antenna wire or coax feed point when
touched by
hand
after power testing

High efficiency = NO lossy matching components anyplace
in
system
Directivity = 10 to 14 dB signal increase in transmit with
90
degree
rotation with horizontal orientation
Vertical orientation provides omni-directional pattern

Shipping world wide

Product is in production
More Info: http://www.tak-tenna.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251464.5
WB6RLC Rating: 2009-12-02
DX first contact Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
OK, you’ve heard how easy this is to build and tune. I won’t expand on that. Here is how the antenna worked for me.

I live in a shallow canyon, more of an alluvial. There are so many rocks I have not set up a proper ground for my station. I am however about 300-400 ft above the valley floor. The transmitter is an ICOM-735 with 100 watts out.

When I tuned the antenna, I mounted it on a 6ft piece of 1 inch PVC pipe set in a concrete pool umbrella stand. This is setting on the concrete decking about 4 ft from the pool. The RG8X runs out of the garage window, across the pool deck and to the antenna. I tuned the antenna to a little better than 1.2:1 @ 7.2 MHz. So I decided to give it a try. At first 40M was pretty busy and noisy. I came back a little later. I chose to pass on the station I heard from Dubai! My first shot was to an East Coast station. I hit W4WRL, Wayne in South Carolina. That’s from Palm Springs California to South Carolina, about 2000+ miles! Not bad for my first try with the antenna setting 6 ft off of a concrete pool deck and 100 watts. I am sold. Can’t wait to get it up in the air.
G0NIG Rating: 2009-11-18
Granduous Claims Time Owned: more than 12 months.
There is nothing new or miraculous about this antenna. The theory has been discussed for many years. It's ok for portable use but in a domestic environment, where there is significant reliance on feed-line radiation, it can prove to be quite a hazard. As a test I inserted a line isolator, this severely compromised the mediocre
performance. As for having multi-band capability, with a suitable AMU a BBQ grill will load up on Top-Band through to 10m, this does not always mean acceptable radiating efficiency.

The Pro's are that it's compact, relatively cheap, easy to construct.

The Con's are that it is no substitute for a properly constructed dipole, even one that is doglegged to fit in a confined space.

I can but praise Steve on his service.
KF5BUB Rating: 2009-10-12
Tak-Tenna as Vertical Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
Performance was not too great in horizontal position, but in vertical config it out-performed my dipole on 40 and 15 mtrs! Works fairly well on 80 with my tuner, which is great as I don’t have room for an 80m antenna. On 10 meters it is great in the CW segment, but not so good on the phone section (which doesn’t bother me as I operate CW QRP only). On CW I use an IC-725 idled down to 10-watts, and have made contact in several states. My best QSO was Hawaii a couple weeks ago, really late in the evening, which speaks a lot about the antenna. I couldn’t hear him well on the dipole, but he came in about 4 s-units over the QRM on the Tak! Once we established contact, I switched from the Tak to the dipole and he reported my signal dropped about the same as his did on my rig.

Once I relocate, I plan to run 2 Tak 40 units phased together, and add an 80 unit as well. Love these things!!!

From reading other reviews, some are not getting the performance in vertical mode. First, do not put it up over 40 feet. It performs well closer to the ground when using vertically. Also, make sure to wind about 6 six-inch turns in the coax where it enters the shack. Use a good tuner such as the MFJ tuner.

Bottom line, if you need a good antenna for a small space, this works extremely well.

73 ... Albert ... K5FFO (formerly KF5BUB).
WB9CUX Rating: 2009-09-26
Buyer Beware Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
After seeing the glowing reports about this antenna, I ordered one and received it promptly. After reviewing the instructions, I realized that the cross pieces were held to the boom with tyraps. I thought screws might be better but 1/4-20 screws, which fit in the holes provided, would not go through because the holes did not line up. Also, the cross piece holes in the boom were not at 90 degrees to the boom causing the cross pieces to be canted. I decided to send the antenna back because I didn't care for the above problems. I packed it up and sent it back. Today I received a check for $49.00. The antenna cost $122.00 plus $13.00 return shipping making my total cost $135.00. This experience cost me an $86.00 loss despite the return letter stating that the antenna was in 100% acceptable condition! Since I just subscribed to Antennex Magazine online, I looked up the Tak-tenna and found an article by Dave Cuthbert. In the article, Reviewing the Tak-tenna Part 2, the antenna gets a pretty fair review but states that the feedline radiation may be responsible for more radiation than the Tak-tenna itself! Basically this is a top loaded vertical with elevated feed. It is further stated in the article that if you use a balun close to the antenna feed point, you have effectively disconnected the outside shield of the line from the antenna and will therefore receive no benefit of radiation from it. This will make the Tak-tenna the only radiating portion of the antenna and give you a narrow bandwidth and a radiation efficiency of 5%. I make these observations with 35 years of professional electronic hardware building experience and 41 years of amateur radio. WB9CUX.
WS3Y Rating: 2009-09-13
Works quite well Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I own a 40m Tak-tenna; a very unique design that is is quite small (34" side diameter and less than 18" turning radius) and very efficient when you consider the bands you can use it on.
This antenna works well, but you must understand that it is a compromise antenna, that is, it is small in size and therefore narrow in bandwidth.
It is not a yagi, but it is a beam of sorts (see photos and info on Tak-tenna.com)

Let me say first that I have no interest in Tak-tenna, Yaesu, Icom or Comet -- what you read here and in my other reviews is based solely on MY OWN EQUIPMENT under my own unique environmental and topographical conditions.
I am also far from being an EE or technician.


The Tak-tenna comes in parts and assembly, requiring some adequate space (8' x 8' clear room would suffice)is required. Follow the instructions EXACTLY, and if you have any doubts, re-read the instructions. If you are still in doubt, email Steve at Tak-tenna, he will help you. Assembly took me about three hours.

I live on a hillside in a small valley in southeast Indiana. The hill behind my house is about 100 feet higher than the roof of my house, and when I look out my front window, I am looking across the surface of the street 40 feet in front of my house -- I'm in a hole and we have CCR limitations.

I have now had this antenna for about three weeks and am quite pleased with what it can do.
I had previously used a small multi-band HF beam antenna (roof mounted) which did not work as well as the Tak-tenna. Both antennas were used with the two older radios I own; an Icom IC-706 and a Yaesu FT-100D. I had never had a QSO on the compact multi-band beam with either radio, but I had one QSO with each radio within the first week that they were connected to the Tak-tenna. That was before I realized there was an output problem with both rigs. In spite of the difficulty, I was able to make numerous contacts with the Yaesu FT-100D before I realized it too seemed to be putting out about 66% of its rated max power (100w).

I then purchased a used Icom IC-756PRO that has proven to be more than adequate when used in conjunction with the Tak-tenna. I have made several contacts with this radio/antenna combo and have recived above average signal reports under quite variable band conditions on both 20 and 40m.

Now, let me tell you of what I have found.

First, THE INITIAL TUNING OF THE ANTENNA IS CRITICAL!!! IN CASE YOU DIDN'T CATCH THAT THE FIRST TIME, LET ME SAY IT AGAIN, THE INITIAL TUNING OF THE ANTENNA IS CRITICAL!!!
If you have difficulty with the tuning, Steve at Tak-tenna will walk you through it step by step. He spent an hour on the phone with me making certain that I had tuned it properly -- AT HIS EXPENSE! I sealed the tuning connection points (alligator clips) with liquid electrical tape (Lowe's and Home Depot both have it), just make sure you don't obstruct the metal to metal contact when you do so, or the antenna won't tune!

Secondly, it is fairly directional -- receive signals seem to drop about 40 - 60 % when rotated 90 degrees from the direction of transmission. Reception is not nearly so severe when the antenna is 180 degrees from the direction of transmission.

Third, my antenna seems to be VERY height sensitive, moreso than my Comet CHA-250Bx.
I tried using the Tak-tenna at both 11 feet and 25 feet agl (from my deck) and was able to make only one contact, but as soon as I moved it to my mast on the roof ( about 32 feet agl and 4 feet beneath my digital tv antenna and 3 feet above my 2m/70cm yagi), it worked well. I made three contacts immediately on the first try and received 5/9 signal reports under less than ideal conditions on 40 m. I then made contacts on 20m with equal results.
So far I have made NO contacts on 75m.

Fourth, I have found that this antenna must be used with a tuner. The bandwidth characteristics of the antenna for me have made it a necessity that I use an MFJ-949C in conjunction with the internal tuner on the 756PRO.
I tune first on the dummy load, manually tune the MFJ, and then tune with 756 internal. This procedure seems to work quite well and gives me peace of mind that I will not hurt the rig, and it has proven to be most effective.

Lastly, when compared with the Comet CHA-250Bx, it is comparable in terms of audible volume, but the meter shows about a one S drop when I switch from the Tak-tenna to the Comet -- the Tak-tenna gives you a slightly stronger signal.

It is a very low profile antenna, and since its is small, I painted it black so it would blend in with the trees behind our house and hopefully inhibit ice buildup once winter gets here.

If I were asked to choose between the Comet and the Tak-tenna, I could not. BUT, if you have CCRs, then the Tak-tenna may be the antenna for you.


N5DXL Rating: 2009-08-31
It works & I'm happy Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I've had the 40 meter model now for 8 months I believe it took about 90 minutes to build.
I put it app. 30 foot on my mast just under my dual band antenna and for my first cq southern
Cailf., no bad seeing I'm in the Memphis area. I am able to tune 6-40 meter with a AT-7000 tuner.
I'm lucky as I have 3 antennas, the Tak-tenna a 5BTV with 17 meter coil and a full size G5RV.
Yes the G5RV works much better then the Tak-tenna but how many people have room for a 205"
antenna plus 45 foot of ladder line. For a small space the Tak-Tenna works great, in fact I have
loned it out to a friend that lives in a apt down town and he can't believe he's working HF
from this small apt. In fact I'm thinking about another and trying to mount it on the rear of
my 18 wheeler because I know it works better then my full size screwdrive antenna from my testing.

73,
Tom N5DXL
K0UWJ Rating: 2009-08-28
Happy camper Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.

On first glance, the TAK-tenna looked like just what I needed. Small size, multi-band and not tooooo visable.

The box arrived promptly and in good condition.

I got the antenna built before the XYL got home from work (no problem using the living room table).

I did cut off more than the three feet as told not to do in the instructions. Cut to proper length and soldered the pieces back on.

Got lucky, it liked where I put the taps the first try.

Antenna is now 5310 feet above sea level, 25 feet above the ground here in Colorado. Pointed N-S.

Using a MFJ-949E antenna tunner, VSWR is right at 1:1 where I like to work. Had a bit of a problem getting it there. The ground on the coax wasn't making connection. Guess I got in a rush.

I am very happy with the antenna and Steve, who kept checking on my progress.

73

Bob
CT1ESJ Rating: 2009-08-27
Size does not count Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
- Easy to assemble
- Easy to tune
- Small
- Lightweight
- Good reports on TX and RX

in conclusion: FANTASTIC

And last but not least, congrats to Steve for the service after sale.
Is not a joke, really care about what they sell, so I understand that what they sell actually works
KG4BFR Rating: 2009-07-25
Not for me Time Owned: N.A.
I tried for a long time to make it work for me,the antenna performed very poor in my situation,the feedline of this antenna is a major radiating element and because I live in a condo and was only able to install it a few feet(6)above ground it gave me major problems.
Steve is very good with help and his product was shipped excellent.
I ended up building a Magnetic Loop out of cooper pipe for the 20M band and it works fantastic for me, only a few feet off the ground.A small antenna can only have 2 of the following parameters:
Small Size(in terms of wavelength)
Efficiency
Broadband
I have the first 2 with my Magnetic Loop...the web is full of information on how to build a Small and Efficient magnetic loop.
Good luck.
73
kg4bfr
W0JMC Rating: 2009-07-22
Looks like an A-one hit to me. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I haven't had much time to work with it yet, but I did put it up horizontally on a 20' mast on the back of my tractor (I'm an over-the-road trucker) and using my PL-259 got an immediate 1:1.2 swr just using the alligator clips. Jumped on the air 40 meters, I was in Dowagiac, MI, and within two minutes had made my first contact in Key West, FL. Over the course of the next hour or so I made several more contacts on 40 meters and then using my AT-100 Pro Autotuner switched to 20 meters and made 10 more contacts including W1AW at headquarters (lucky contact) and several in California.

Considering my short experience I would have to say that my TAK-tenna 40MP is awesome. I can't wait until I have some time to really tune it up properly and try some DX.