Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: TAK-tenna

Category: Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : TAK-tenna
Reviews: 146MSRP: 198 USD
Description:
High-frequency antenna for 3 to 30 MHz., inclusive

TAK-tenna is Unique and has been awarded U.S. Patent.

Radiating elements use proprietary copper jacketed alloy

Rotatable - Portable - Stealth - Primary & Restricted
Space

Very easy to assemble

Sturdy and well built with low wind load
Weighs only 5 pounds
Very small footprint

>p>TAK-tenna 80 Multibander has a 48 inch boom
All other models have a 30 inch boom.

Direct feed with 50 or 75 ohm coax on resonant band
User chooses resonant frequency
Use coax + antenna tuner...or twin lead + antenna tuner for
off
resonance operation

Power tested to 1000 CW watts at resonance
Key down for 30 seconds and 1400 Watts PEP
no heat sensed on antenna wire or coax feed point when
touched by
hand
after power testing

High efficiency = NO lossy matching components anyplace
in
system
Directivity = 10 to 14 dB signal increase in transmit with
90
degree
rotation with horizontal orientation
Vertical orientation provides omni-directional pattern

Shipping world wide

Product is in production
More Info: http://www.tak-tenna.com/
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251464.5
SV1NPC Rating: 2009-01-25
Useful for limited space Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I live in an apartment in Athens and I haven't the proper space to install a big ant. Also I'm usually QRP and portable operator, only in CW.
I read for this ant in a magazine, I liked the idea and I ordered a 40m Tak-tenna last March. I installed, in my home, at a height about 2,5m. From March up to June I did many contacts with 5W and a Z-100 tuner in 40 and 20m.
All summer I was only potable operator using alternately a dipole in 20m and a buddistick. From this autumn I'm not very active. Last month I decide to experiment with 100W and Tak-tenna. The results are:
JR1FVI rst 589 (I called cq)
ZZ1UG rst 579
JA7DLE rst 579 - (2nd contact with this station. The first was with 100W and a G5RV, with same rst).
Finally, I think that this ant works fine and I like the small size, the light construction and the endurance in strong winds. Next months I plan to test Tak-tenna in field with 5W.
Nikos -SV1NPC
VA3QV Rating: 2008-12-28
Worked the Canada Winter Contest Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
First off let me start by saying that I have no connection or interest in the TAK-Tenna and my only investment in the company was my purchase of the antenna….

My station for this test was as follows:

The rig is the FT897 by Yaesu and I am using the Yaesu FC40 auto tuner. The antenna was a TAK-Tenna hanging horizontally (more or less) and orientated north-south for the bulk of the signal to go east west. The Tak-tenna is being fed by 300 TV Twinlead (the real cheap stuff) to the FC40 tuner.

For this test I decided to operate in the 2008 RAC Canada Winter Contest as I felt this would be the best time to make contacts to test out things… Even with the poor conditions I was able to work almost across the country from Newfoundland VO1 to Alberta VE6.

I feel I am qualified to write a review on this antenna because since I have been licenced in 1992 I have only once had the luxury of having a full size wire dipole up between two trees… Unfortunately the Ice storm of 1998 removed that luxury and since then I have been the king of compromise antennas. My comments on this antenna will be honest but I an not going to compare this antenna against a windom, G5RV or simular multi band full sized antenna. My comments are more along the lines of how it worked compared to a hamstick dipole or other such compromise antennas…

Using my FC 40 tuner I was able to get the TAK-Tenna to load up on 6m, 10m, 20m, 40m and 80m. I had no luck with 15m or 160m but I have never operated 160m from my location.

I started the contest on 80m and was able to make contacts in the provinces of Nova Scotia, Ontario and Alberta.

When I lost 80m, the 40m band was starting to open and I was able to make contacts in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

Once 40m had dissapeared I switched over to 20m and made contacts in Newfoundland, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

I would have to honestly say that the TAK-Tenna performed as well as any other antenna I have kept up at this location with the exception of my G5RV which was a mainstay here till the icestorm removed one of my trees…

I was honestly impressed with the performance of the antenna on a day that had very poor band conditions… If you are moving from a house with a yard to a residence with no room for full size antennas it will work well for you. It will not do as good as your dipole but it will keep you on the air with a signal that can be heard. There is not really much of a difference between S7 and S9 to the ears…

There is just over 5 hrs to go in the contest and I think there is nothing else to prove with this test. It works fine…. It would work better if the bands were cooperating but thats life these days. If you have room for a full size antenna for gawds sake put one up… If you don’t have the room for a “real antenna” then as far as compromise antennas go the TAK-tenna would be a good choice…

I would happily buy the 80m version once it becomes available.

73bob
VA3QV
http://va3qv.wordpress.com
HARLEYRACER Rating: 2008-12-10
Happy New Ham Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I'm a new HAM mostly interested in CW from my Coast Guard days. I bought the 40 meter model, had it put together and mounted on the roof of a two story house with no problems. I'm just using an Icom IC-718 with a MFJ Deluxe Versa Tuner II (MFJ-948). I tuned it to resonance, and am able to work all the way up to 80 meters using the tuner. I'm in California and have worked all the way to Indiana and Illinois and have heard stations on the East Coast (couldn't QSO though). This has worked out much better than the apartment antenna I tried originally.
KD5MSW Rating: 2008-11-18
40M TAK-tenna works for me Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
Got the 40m a few months ago and it went together just as described. Put it up about 15ft. to set resonance and set it as recommended. It was almost on for the whole band. Wanted better so, on second adjustment I hit it within an inch of what was recomended. Final height is about 30ft. On first contact I was able to talk into three-way Ham conversation between Alanta GA, Albuquerque MN, and Chicago IL. All three reported my signal to be 5-8-9. My reception was likewise of their signals. If the antenna has any directivity, it has not shown it to me. My location Is San Antonio TX. Since then I've made many contacts in all directions. I'm using a Yaesu FT857D at 100W.

When my finance officer (wife) tells me there's monies available, I'll buy the 80m antenna. BTW, I live in a restrictive HOA neighborhood. The antenna is just above the roof line and no one has made comment yet, especially the HOA board.
WB9SFM Rating: 2008-11-01
It works Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I was suprised when I assembled the tak and went on the air. From Illinois I received S-9 signal reports from Kentucky hams, this antenna does work well, I worked 40 meters at 50 watts; a very effective antenna. I guess the old saying does apply, "expect big things from a small package". Just follow Steve's constuction suggestions and you will have a resonate 40 meter antenna. You will be happy...low price...easy to put together..all in all a great deal.
KB4QQJ Rating: 2008-10-16
FIRST TRANSATLANTIC.......!!!" Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Well, it's been a while since a TAK-tenna review on my part but I gotta do it again. I have owned my TAK-tennas for over a year. I have the 80, 40 and 20 meter versions.

You see on October 10th, S52CC, Vince in Slovenia and I had the FIRST TRANSATLANTIC TAK-tenna to TAK-tenna QSO!! About 4700 miles.
I gave Vince 559 - he was as clear as a bell. He gave me 569.
Vince has an amazing setup in his Condo. Please treat yourself to a look.
http://www.taktenna.com/Balcony%20photos%20Vince%20and%20Denis.htm
To add icing to the cake, we worked AGAIN the next night!!
Both times I was running 5 watts from an Icom 703 into my TAK 40 at 25 feet.
Mine was in Horizontal configuration and Vince had his in Vertical configuration running 100 watts.
Absolutely amazing antenna. Still a solid 5 stars!!! Gotta love it.

Randy _ KB4QQJ
Burlington, NC
AI4MS Rating: 2008-10-07
Strong Product with 1 Caveat Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
The antenna, as quirky and as irregular as it looks, works well. SWR measured 1.7 on 20 meters ( where I worked Connecticut on cw from Miami in quiet conditions with 10 watts indoors up 10 feet) and 1.1 on 40 in a dipole setup. It certainly should be considered by those wanting a stealth setup. I have not yet tried it in the vertical setup.

My concern is the instructions which badly needs a complete overhaul with pictures demonstrating each phase of construction. I don't mind making mistakes ( I try to learn from my mistakes.) but I expect to be able to follow good instructions and complete the task in a reasonable time. The manufacturer was kind enough to provide additional photographs and tells me he will upgrade the instructions so that they are on a par with the quality of the antenna.
N0YD Rating: 2008-10-01
Works as advertised Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I bought this antenna because I wanted to get back on 40 meters and had no room and no trees for a big 40 meter wire antenna. I haven't worked 40 meters in years. This antenna has re-opened the 40 meter band for me. I re-discovered the fun of operating on 40 meters.

I've made contacts not only on 40 meters, but have used my LDG tuner to tune the antenna on 20 meters and have made contacts on 20 meters also.

This antenna makes a great one for portable operation since it is small and easy to carry around. I bought the portable version so I could take it apart (three pieces) for ease in transporting it.

I had a couple of questions so I called Steve, the owner of TAK-tenna. He was really helpful and wants to make sure every customer is happy with the TAK-tenna.

Tnx and 73,

Tom, N0YD
W3NRL Rating: 2008-09-29
works like Steve said it would Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I called Steve and he helped me through the situation...we got it going just like it should"....I like this antenna for the size it amazing.
WA4UIH Rating: 2008-09-24
Excellent Results Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I have owned and used my 40M TAK-tenna here in Indiana since October 2007 with great results since day 1. I have experimented with many antennas since 1964 and have found this one to be a really fun antenna from construction to use. It out performs my wire antenna by a long shot. I mounted my TAK-tenna on a flag pole mast and it is up 22 feet and I use a light TV rotor to direct it. I keep a daily 40 meter sked with my brother in Georgia and have found both our signals to be 2 to 3 s-units better with the TAK-tenna than my wire antenna that is also 20-22 feet high. There is also a very noticeable increase when I direct the TAK-tenna toward him. This was my main reason for trying the TAK-tenna as the daily 40M conditions are not very good here and I wanted something to make our QSO's more Q5 and the TAK-tenna has accomplished this for me. I use a B&W tuner and the TAK-tenna loads 40 through 10 meters. With casual operating, I have worked 55 countries using the TAK-tenna with 140 watts from a Yaesu FT-102, including the VP6DX, T32OU and TI9KK (40 Meters) DXpeditions. I have worked Hawaii and many European, Caribbean stations on 40 meters. I recommend the TAK-tenna to anyone with space restrictions or anyone wanting a really simple, fun antenna for portable or fixed operation for daily use. I have found the antenna to be much more weather durable than it would appear to be, in short, the TAK-tenna is as advertised and more. Also it was a pleasurable purchase as Steve is very personable and informative and stands behind his product. Shipping was fast and well packed. Instructions are simple and make contruction of the TAK-tenna easy.