Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: PstRotator

Category: Ham Software/Apps - Other than logging

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : PstRotator
Reviews: 49MSRP: 21
Description:
PstRotator - handles just about every controllable rotator in common use, provides automatic tracking for satelites and EME, and lots more
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.qsl.net/yo3dmu/index_Page346.htm
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00495
KU4SD Rating: 2019-05-08
Terrific Program Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
This program is awesome. It was easy to set up and is very easy to use. The SteppIR control works flawlessly for me. The way it interacts with so many other ham radio software programs is amazing. Thank you to the developer of this software for making such a great program that integrates my entire station.
N7GCO Rating: 2018-06-19
Excellent Program Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
This is a great way to automate your station. Works flawlessly with N3FJP logging software. Can't imagine not having it now. The author is very responsive to questions and problems. Sorry I waited so long to use it.
W6UV Rating: 2018-02-26
Does everything I need it to do and more Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I've been migrating away from HRD and the rotator control application is the last piece that I needed a replacement for. PstRotator fits this niche perfectly and does everything the HRD rotator application did and a lot more.

It interfaces to my Green Heron RT-21 controllers just fine (although one of my controllers was set up to use COM50 and PSTRotator only supports COM1-COM15, so I had to change the Com port number for that controller in Window's device manager--it would be nice if PstRotator supported all possible Com port numbers).

It supports many more maps than HRD does. It even let me create my own maps and install them by copying the map image file to the PstRotator Maps directory. I used a map generation website to create an azimuthal map centered on my QTH and after copying it to the Maps directory, it worked seamlessly.

Te program has a set of twelve presets that can be set to any bearing and labeled appropriately. Another way to point an antenna is to choose a DXCC entity from a pull-down list. There's a "park" button to move the antenna to a parking position when you're finished operating for the day.
N0AN Rating: 2018-02-23
Simply Amazing Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I am active both on HF (all modes) and 6 meters (mostly meteor scatter on MSK144). I have a Yaesu G-1000DXA rotor and a DigiMaster G232 interface.

This software controls my rotor via WSJT-X software, although it supports a bajillion other pieces of software/logging/etc as well as a ton of rotors. What it can do, in terms of operations is truly astounding.

If you are in the USA, be SURE to install the FCC callbook (it's in Help > Downolad FCC database). Then in settings chose "Use FCC Database". This will result in automatically turning the antenna to the station you click on with WSJT-X. (Tracking config for WSJT-X needs to be done, first)

One can move from manual to "Tracking" mode by selecting it from the main screen. Tracking means get the pointing info from your "source" program. In my case it is WSJT-X.

All I do now, (when I want Tracking) is select tracking and any station (whether with or without a grid square showing in WSJT-X) that I click on in the Band Activity window of WSJT-X will cause the Rotor to point at that station, by looking them up in the FCC database that you downloaded earlier.

If you do not install the FCC database, it has it's own database for dx, but it is not very useful for inside the USA, because if the call isn't in it's database it will "guess" where W7 is or W4, or W1. For DX it works great as JA is JA is JA (pretty much), but that won't work for inside the USA. There is no reason not to let the program download an install the FCC database.

I can't say how impressed I am with the price (around $15), the support (email has been fast and helpful) and performance of this software.

I haven't even scratched the surface of what this program can do with a rotor.

What one other reviewer said is absolutely true: If you have a rotor, you NEED this software (assuming your rotor can be computer controlled).

73, N0AN
WB4OZM Rating: 2018-02-15
Excellent software, super customer service! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I could make this long, but I won’t. If you have a rotor, you NEED this software! Best ever and when you have an issue, Codrut is fast, friendly and very knowledgeable.

You will not regret this purchase.
73
WB4OZM
HC5DX
WA3GFZ Rating: 2017-12-19
Flawless Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have been using this for 5 years with an ERC-M USB controller in a client server config. It has worked flawlessly and you can't say that about many windows programs. It works with many rotors and interfaces with software easily. Thank you for a great product.
PA3CEV Rating: 2016-07-31
Awesome! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Using this software in my shack since a few years. Works with every imaginable hard and software combination. I use it to (synchronized) control 3 rotators.

If you run into a problem, it's solved online in no time.

ND8L Rating: 2016-02-24
World Class Support Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I've owned PST Rotator for a couple of years now and when I upgraded computers had some issues getting it to work with N1MM+.

A couple of e-mails to Codrut and everything is working fine. It never took more than 3-4 hours to hear back from him and his answers were always right on point. Codrut even offered to net op into my PC and help with any unresolved issues.

I can't recommend his software highly enough.
CT1BXX Rating: 2015-08-06
Excellent again ! Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
In fact the last review was mine, but I need to return here again to express my experience regarding a problem I have had.
Without a logical reason I have a problem with ... no commands to rotator control neither to antenna commutator via relays.
After I have tried some changes I do not found any way to solve. I send an email to Codrut explaining what was going on.
And here is the reason for my second review.
Codrut very promptly offered his help to solve the problem and then, using TeamViewer the problem were completely solved.
I want express my thanks to Mr. Codrut for his help on solving the problem so rapidly, and at same time I would like to tell that whom uses PSTRotator are very lucky: excellent software and also excellent assistance.
If you are looking for a software to control rotator and antenna commutator, please give a try to PSTRotator

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by CT1BXX on 2015-04-09

Remarkable software and remarkable assistance.
Very happy with this software. Now I can control automatically antenna commutator, rotator azimuth and also handle the offset between antennas on same tower.
It works very well with ERC-M and my logbook Log4OM.
My thanks to Codrut for this excellent work.
K9WZB Rating: 2015-02-23
The Best of the best support for a product Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
This is a great program for any of the many rotor control boxes out there. It is especially for my situation a great program if you have a Green Heron and a steppIR antenna. It has plenty of visual aids to see where your antenna is pointing. You can connect it up with N3FJP logger to also control your rotor. Also Codrut, the programmer, provides very good technical support and and will answer any and all your program needs if you run into a problem setting it up. He will also come into your computer and correct errors you might of made. This is a full service product that when you have it all set up you will be actually thrilled to show it off.
Garry K9WZB