Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Ten-Tec Eagle 599

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Ten-Tec Eagle 599
Reviews: 70MSRP: $1995
Description:
Ten Tec Eagle Model 599. offers simplified controls and ease of operation. 100 Watts, SSB & CW, 160 Mtr to 6 Mtr and General Coverage Receive .50 t0 30Mhz. Nifty and Compact and a Mobile friendly structure.
Product is in production
More Info: http://tentec.com
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00704.6
DJ3MQ Rating: 2019-01-16
one of the best Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
This is my second Eagle and im very happy to
have one in exellent condition . I also have had an Orion 1 with the RX-366 second receiver .
The Eagle is the same as an RX-366 with an transmitter for 100W . Very close to an Orion .
Claer audio in CW and SSB , very good rapports from other stations and easy to operate . And the receiver is not noisy !! With the additional Noise Blanker very quiet (take the Band noise 2db down). NR isnt komfortable usable , make same artefacts from beginning step 1 to 2 , higher levels are impracticable.
The Eagle was very expencive in Europe . A new one in its time was by 2200 € with AT and NB .
I bought this one on Ebay USA for 850 $ and i`m happy and hope for a long live with my eagle .
W5GNB Rating: 2018-12-13
Average ~~at Best !! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
This radio performs quite well EXCEPT for the fact that the Receiver is noisy, the AGC is poor in tracking, the Noise Blanker is Poor, the "S" meter is Weird, and when connecting a Linear Amplifier for use on CW you have to provide a "Delay Off" circuit on the amp keying switch so as to not have the amplifier keyed ON/OFF with your keying characters. The rig has great audio both in and out and CW keying is good. I feel that for the price, you can do better with one of the modern day rice box rigs. Otherwise, I LOVE IT !!! ~~~~~
W9ZOO Rating: 2018-11-09
still working like new Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have had this radio for 4 years use as a back up,every once in a while I turn it on and can't believe what great radio is.Bottom line ..
K7JLJ Rating: 2018-09-10
Simple but Effective Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I've had mine for just over a year. I like the simplicity of the no menus approach.

I do run digital modes via fldigi on Linux on occasion, but this rig is a pure joy to listen to and prefer SSB or CW.

The CW filtering is outstanding and the audio is rich and plenty loud.

Paid $850 on ebay on an impulse buy as I was going to get a Yeasu FT-891 at the time, but have no regrets with this rig!
K9CIZ Rating: 2017-10-01
Year of service Time Owned: N.A.
The Eagle served me well for many years. It holds many good memories during my operating as a Ham with ‘great ears’. For those looking at ditching multi-layered menus, this is a great option. For DSP, only the much higher dollar rigs can come close. Definitely the sports car of rigs!
N4DOV Rating: 2016-09-21
Continues to soar Time Owned: more than 12 months.
While the future resurrection of TenTec is debated on forums, I thought I would add my "tuppence worth " opinion of my 5 year old radio. My Eagle is the "gold" edition (paid the over $2000 dollar price). It has performed in a excellent manner with excellent low noise floor audio on receive, excellent noise mitigation and excellent reports on transmit.It is a simple radio, no manual required and all buttons up front. It is remarkable to believe that a radio first unveiled in 2009, is right up there with the best in Sherwood Engineering Receiver testing, as is as is the Orion I(2003), and the Orion II(2005).
TenTec RIP : Rest in Peace or Resurrect in Prosperity.

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by N4DOV on 2013-03-28

I know I am reviewing this too early in my ownership,but am at present under attack by some major interference possibly power line noise which has curtailed my radio activities...I thought.The noise could NOT be adequately handled by my Icom 7600 (which for me is an amazing rig), enter the TenTec Eagle. NB eliminates the noise and once again I can hear signals.Add a superb NR for those of use in a high noise area.Receive audio is superb as other have verified and more pleasant to listen than my Icom (which is no slouch).Was not able to pull a VK station out of the "mud" the other day,until I switched to the Eagle and there he was. This little radio (<3inches by 8 inches faceplate size with no menus except at start up to change screen color and turn tuner on and off) is so simple to use,(has one of the smallest manuals and a quick start page included) so big on performance that if one is considering a radio in the <$2000 range, check the Eagle out.In fact check it out anyway. The buttons are small and this will not make the "jolly green giant" as happy as I am!
I use a TenTec Regal desk microphone as I did not find the supplied hand microphone to my liking.Add the easy access and support just a telephone away to live help should you need it.
K7FD Rating: 2016-09-04
On second thought... Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Having owned the Eagle for almost 3 years, I felt it was time for another review. First and foremost, the radio has performed without a hiccup and for this I am grateful, knock on wood. May it continue to run like a clock and avoid repairs!

That said, there are a few things that have bugged me about this odd duck. Yes, it's a bit odd. The ergonomics are strange at best. Band changes are tedious requiring a multi-button press to go up or down the bands. Using the RIT control is a nightmare; again multi-button presses required for this simple task. Not what you want, especially in the heat of the battle. Another strange bit of engineering the failure of the modes to track with A/B frequency changes.

While not a show stopper, the AGC fails to dampen signals uniformly in a roundtable requiring a constant readjustment of the RF gain with each new station coming on board. Also not a show stopper are the S meter and SWR markings that cannot be easily read by the human eye. Granted, it's a small radio but it's a strain to see unless your nose is almost touching the VFO.

While relatively overpriced when new, IMHO, these radios appear to now be going for reasonable prices on the used market. I highly recommend this radio for someone who wants 'something really different' but is willing to accept its shortcomings. Basic performance is there, it just seems to be a struggle when it comes to extracting it in everyday use.

John K7FD

W9DJ Rating: 2016-04-29
Excellent Value Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have owned an Eagle for about 18 months. I bought it used, and it has proven to be a very nice rig. The receiver is extremely good for a radio in this price class (or any price class). The rig is not "full featured," but it's simple to operate and does the job. Yes, the split and RIT could be easier to use, and some people have complained about the ergonomics, but Ten Tec seems to have been determined to avoid menus and more than two functions/button; to me that is an acceptable compromise. I use it portable a lot, and it's a nice size, but a handle on the side would be a useful addition. It has a nice, clean layout on the inside, and should be easier to service than some radios. I also have an Omni VII, and though the Omni has more features, including the internet jack, the Eagle's basic performance is at least as good as the Omni's. I do wish it had a handle and the ability to tailor the tx audio. If the new IC7300 had been out when I bought the Eagle I would have considered it, but I'm happy with the Eagle and have had no buyer's remorse.
W8NLZ Rating: 2016-04-25
Small Package - Big Performance Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Some orientation: The Ten Tec Eagle is about 2/3rds the size of a Kenwood TS-590 or Elecraft K3. It only weighs 7 lbs. The operator interface philosophy is "no menus". What you see is what you get on this abbreviated front panel. But, this is good if you operate portable or, as a minimalist, like to retain that feeling that you are really operating your radio and not vice-versa. Think of the Eagle as a sports car without power steering or automatic transmission.

But what's under the hood? Whoa! Big horsepower! A receiver so sensitive you will spend a lot of time with the RF gain backed off. A DSP filter that squeezes down to 100Hz with no ringing. And you will love true QSK when you hear your intended contact calling another station while you are calling him. Ten Tec has designed a great architecture, essentially going digital for the last IF stage. Using the latest SMD technology, they have packed a lot under the hood of this little guy.

Why not a "5"? The requirement to select RIT as a temporary function is very clumsy. As to SPLIT operation, you just have to know that "B VFO" is the Transmit frequency. No other indication. And finally, the 3-color LED display backlight lacks brightness. Small issues.

The Eagle is not for everyone. If you want a highway barge with pushbutton everything, buy a Lexus. If you want to feel the road when you hit the gas, consider an Eagle.

While the current uncertainty regarding the company restructuring has their prices depressed, an Eagle is great bang for your buck.

WA1SEO Rating: 2016-04-01
Performance, performance, performance! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I owned an Eagle for several years and the performance is excellent. I found the receiver to be extremely quiet and very selective. 6 Meter operation was a joy to operate. So the Eagle does exactly what it was advertised to do...perform.

On another note, I was very disappointed with some of the ergonomic features. If you were in the memory mode and "accidentally" moved the VFO control, when you exit the memory move, you would no longer be on the original frequency. I think that they should have made it so when you recall a memory, the VFO control allows you to tune the recalled frequency. There appeared to be a fair amount of delay in the S-meter and what you actually hear. If you use HRD, you don't get control of many functions. Lastly, I was always concerned about how warm the radio ran. 18W is a lot of power in the receive mode especially when you consider that the Argo VI has similar performance and consumes significantly less power. Yes, the radio gets warm. Simple firmware updates were never implemented and it's a shame as to what the company is going through now.

All in all, at the blow out prices, it was a fantastic deal.