Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: Kenwood TR-9000

Category: Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held)

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : Kenwood TR-9000
Reviews: 19MSRP:
Description:
2m all mode mobile
Product is not in production
More Info: http://www.qsl.net/sm7vhs/radio/kenwood/tr9000/tr9000.htm
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
00194.8
EA4AZZ Rating: 2015-08-19
Back to back Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
Bought a few months ago.
Fantastic receiver in SSB and FM.The sensivity is very high
I use with a 4cx350F PA and is a perfect macht.
No miss the modern tranceivers.
I can hear with no external amp weak tropo signals and satellite downlinks.
NO 100W - NO 100 memory- NO DSP- NO MISS.
Is a jewel.
F4GFT Rating: 2012-06-10
For CW, get BT-8 Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.

I second most of what has been said here. Good receiver, good operability, very solid build quality - I am very fond of it and only wish the output power could be reduced. I have the european version, where it cannot.
The one thing I would like to add concerns the often heard criticism that the TR-9000 was poor for CW operation. That is true for the rig alone, but if you are into CW, get the BT-8 base, and everything falls into place: There's a dedicated TX button on the base. I got mine in a combo with base and matching power supply, which makes for a nice base station.
JA2XXXSWL Rating: 2011-02-03
Golden 80's Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
First thing i'd like to tell, that all previous reviews is about TR-9000 EU/US version, which have "split". There is also TR-9000 Japanese version, which does not have split and TR-9000G, which have more advances features to work with memory.
TR-9000(JP) have very selective front-end with 2-pole bandpass filter->FET amplifier->3-pole high quality bandpass filter. TR-9000G(JP) have same block diagramm of front-end, but bandpass filters are more simple and looks the same as TR-7700(another VHF FM RIG on Japanese market, well known in EU/US as TR-7730 with "split" feature).
I'd like to say, that this RIG is not for "repeater lovers", but for SSB DX-ing - sensetive RX and 2.4kHz SSB crystal filter.
"Solid as rock" that's probably most correct description for it's construction. There is also no "bells and whistles", but reasonable features for everyday FM and SSB usage. Needle S-meter more informative then LED-bar style. Potenciometers are very reliable, so can not be failed as in TR-751 hi-hi.
On negative side is not perfect CW mode, no CAT control(but, hey, remember this is 25+ y.o. RIG), no CTSS, no variable output power.
Overall i still give 5 of 5 to this "Golden 80's" RIG. If you are not after repeaters and don't mind to track AO-xx manually this is your choice
G1LOE Rating: 2010-01-19
It's an oldie but goodie. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Recently purchased one from a friend, as i wanted a dedicated 2M SSB mobile, the reviews of the Kenwood were certainly good so i took the leap and got it.
First impressions, built like a tank, good full received audio, the transmitted audio is full and apparently nice to the ear.
Received signals are clear, even weak "back of the box" are clear.
Sideband performance is good for it's age, must admit too lusting after one years ago when i was a newbie.
The lack of CTCSS is a pain if you want to use repeaters over here as nearly all now require them.
but for sideband use i'm glad to finally have one to play with.

If you can find one in good condition, go for it, you'll not regret it.
M6TYC Rating: 2009-06-16
Took advice... Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Saw the review, "if you see one going cheap"...

Easy to use, and with a preamp out performs the ICOM 706 mk IIG that was loaned me on 2m reception. Not that I'm not going to get the ICOM, it has other features I lust after.

Good advice, it's built like a tank, does well in 2m competitons given the aerials it has to work with and another thats not going to leave my company for many years to come.
K3GM Rating: 2008-12-03
Missing a major feature Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I don't share the favorable opinions of the previous reviewers. I am the original owner of this radio, and thus know its complete 27 year history. I purchased it mainly for weak signal work, and have always thought the receiver was something of a brick and have always had a preamp ahead of the receiver to help it. Without it, weak signals would disappear into the noise floor, and you'd never even know they were there. While it now gets only occasional use, it was used on daily both in the shack, as well as mobile. It is a reliable piece of gear, and is extremely heavy duty. The mobile mount is an unusual design. 2 channels on either side of the radio accept spring loaded "gripper teeth" of the mount. When the grippers are locked into place, they dig into the soft aluminum channels, creating deep scratches, and gouges. The result is unsightly in appearance.

The major shortcoming of TR-9000 is in the CW mode. There is no automatic keying of the transmitter in the CW mode! You must place the transceiver into transmit by holding in the microphone key in with one hand while operating the key of your choice with the other. In a contest scenario, this becomes extremely cumbersome. In the early 1980's, I operated a VHF beacon using this radio. I remember using a rubber band to hold the microphone key in while a Heathkit uMatic keyer did the IDing. There is a jack on the rear panel that will put the radio into transmit by closing the circuit, but I never utilized it.

In summation: For weak signal work, fair sensitivity, fair selectivity, poor CW operation. Extremely reliable, heavily built, weird mobile mount.
YD1TDL Rating: 2008-01-05
Sensitif Old Radio Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I just bought TR 9000 for Rp 1.500.000,- in Jakarta,its about US $ 140.00 two months ago. Great fine old Radio. Compare to newer Radio like TM 231,241,251,261,271...TR 751, TR9000 has better.Sensitivity and good sound Quality just like Wide FM Radio. With very little interference. Compare to TR 9130 Oo.o..is the same only the power output is lower .But with less problem.the RF gain is very useful.mine has a serial no:2030563 and has a FM1,FM2,LSB,USB,CW mode.Combine with Daiwa ES-880 and Delta loop 2 X 8 Antenna ( given by YB0OK )GREAT thaks Billy

73,
YD1TDL
Banten,Indonesia
M3ENS Rating: 2007-04-21
a fb radio Time Owned: more than 12 months.
well i have had my tr 9000 for over 3 years and has performed great i payed 50 for it and i would never get rid of it 10/10 if you see one cheap get it!!!!!!
YD3EFC Rating: 2006-03-22
GREAT FINE OLD RADIO Time Owned: more than 12 months.
- GOOD ALL MODE VHF TRANSCEIVER
- VERY LITTLE PROBLEM WITH INTERFERENCE
- RELIABLE PERFORMANCE

73's
Ong Hongky
YD3EFC
N8EKT Rating: 2006-02-20
GREAT OLD SSB RADIO! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
WHAT I RECALL MOST ABOUT THIS RADIO IS THE RECEIVER WAS VERY SELECTIVE.
VERY LITTLE PROBLEM WITH INTERFERENCE.