Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: ICOM IC-7410

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : ICOM IC-7410
Reviews: 100MSRP: 1,999.00
Description:
Icom's newest mid price range HF/6 meter all mode base radio.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7410/default.aspx
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251004.9
G4RNI Rating: 2016-06-27
STUNNINGLY GOOD Time Owned: more than 12 months.
My all time favourite was always going to be the IC-751A, closely followed, or equalled, by the IC-775DSP but as that's a 200W jobbie it's unfair to place them side by side.
Now, after having owned around four IC-7410's I have to say that it's my current favourite 100W base HF radio.
Built like a tank and with controls so logically placed, including the mic gain and RF power all too often relegated to a menu slot, it's so easy to drive.
BIG and clear display, monochrome yes but being quite colourblind it's better for my eyes than them being swamped with reds, greens & blues that I struggle to separate.
For white stick operators it has a clear, concise voice announcement of frequency, mode and even signal strength. Superb.
The noise blanker all but eliminated an S9+40dB plasma TV buzz although audio distortion was just beginning to set in. You can't have it all.
The PA is built around TWO power fets, each capable of running 100Watts so at the stated 100W output it's just cruising.
Icom overpriced the set when it first appeared and it had ALC issues if used to drive a linear. The issue is eliminated on builds over the past 2 years or so (it's June 2016 now) and many earlier versions have been re-engineered by Icom to cure the issue. If you don't run a linear it's not a problem.
Sensitivity is with the best for the state of the art. Signal handling is better than many but not as good as more expensive sets. It's all mode as standard with no additional SSB/CW filters to buy although the close in performance can be somewhat enhanced by plugging in one or both of the 3 and 6kHz roofing filters.
Used prices have dropped to around £800 GBP, $1000 so it's now very good value.
Something that will perform, stand the test of time and won't have you tearing your hair out, trying to remember which menu is for what.

Highly recommended!
KC8Y Rating: 2016-06-22
Ditto on all the comments by the previous reviews Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I'm in fully agree with the previous review :)

I had previously owned & operated this rig (w/all filters) when it first came out. Operated SSB (2%), CW (2%), BUT mostly on digital modes; had
an external high-power antenna tuner. It operated super in any mode. Because of finances, had to downgrade, kinda sorry I did now :(

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by KC8Y on 2013-08-03

Have owned this model-rig ever since it came out. I especially enjoy the large numbers display, since my eyesight is declining; also like the variable-notch, cw pitch and the NB/NR controls. Have all filters installed.

Operate digital modes with SignaLink USB
WA7AXT Rating: 2016-06-22
A very good rig Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I purchased my ic 7410 new from HRO. I had them install all the filters. The filtering is excellent, and the adjustments you can make are really helpful. Everything works as described in the manual. So far, I have had absolutely no problems whatsoever due to manufacture. All the issues I have had were due to my failure to read the manual! There is a steep learning curve regarding all the features; however reading the friendly manual is helpful, and has answered my questions. The audio is very good; and can be adjusted through the easily accessible menu. The internal cw keyer is nice and has adjustments. The noise reduction feature is very effective, as is the noise blanker. The notch filter is fantastic. There are two antenna sockets, which is really nice. If you only use one of the sockets, I would HIGHLY recommend putting a dummy load on the unused one. If you inadvertently hit the "antenna" button and switch outputs, you could easily damage the rf output circuit if the key is accidentally hit at full power. Although the fan is a bit noisy, I would rather have the rig cooled off than have a quiet fan. Given the chance, I would buy this rig again with no hesitation.
K3KRN Rating: 2016-05-12
beastly Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
this thing is a beast. it is big and heavy and looks bad ass. I've only had it for a day and have made contacts into Russia, Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia. all on 75 watts or less. I also have been using the sm-30 mic which I highly recommend. I also got the optional roofing filters. not sure if I need them, but they are fun to play with. anyway, this radio has been recently discontinued and I highly recommend it.
K2VI Rating: 2016-05-01
WHAT A FANTASTIC TRANSCEIVER Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Built like a panzer tank. Quiet selective receiver. I suggest not bothering with the optional filters as the radio receives quiet well without them. Big bright display. Plays identical as my ic-7600 for less that half the cost. Icom might have bombed out with the 746 pro but made up for it with the 7410. What a fine solid transceiver.

----------------------
Earlier 5-star review posted by K2VI on 2011-04-09

I was skeptical at first forking out 2K.After 3 days of testing this radio on 80,40,20 and 15 meters.Yes 15 was open. I have to say it has the most quiet receive i have heard.My proIII is very close. I notice the twin bandpass DSP filter is extremely effective in removing most strong signals. The RX audio quality with my sony bookshef speaker replicates my ts-870.If you ever heard an 870 you know what im talking about.Unfortunately the 870s selectivity is not in the same class as the 7410. I am very impressed with the stout rugged design. I detect no cheezy knobs , buttons or controls. Everthing on this radio is top shelf.The radio is quite large and heavy. 12.5" wide 5" high and a very long depth of 13.5"...it weighs almost 23 pounds.So much larger than the old 746pro.I also own the ts-590 which is a great radio in it's own right and both quite equal in preformance on receive and transmit. However using both radios the better looking , large diplay,knobs,buttons , much larger/heavier rig. I would spend the extra 200.00 and get the 7410.The ft-950 is a nice radio and a keeper in my shack is not in the same class as the 7410's receiver.After long hours of qso's the radio runs very cool, No sign of heat due to excellent design and huge heatsink. The fan is thrmostaically controlled and comes on from time to time. I highly reccomend this radio. It has the same DSP chipset as the ic-7600. Im thinking it is a 7600 minus dual receive, real time spectrum scope, color display and 1900.00
WD8DKB Rating: 2016-03-29
Excellent value Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I agree with all of the 5 ratings. Very easy to use and feels like quality. Everything just works for me. I noticed today that AES has the IC-7410 listed as a Close Out. I can understand that considering todays competition. But it is a proven design that is reliable and well built. Wish they could just keep them in the line up. Very tempting to take advantage of the on going price drops and purchase another. 73 Max
K1WJ Rating: 2016-03-24
Cool Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
HRO @ $1300 seems like a fair price for this Rig. QC seems very good. Supplied Hand Mic is fair but SM-30 desk mic drives the radio much better. Filters,ANF,MNF,NR work very well. Receiver is very good. Like the Mini band scope and Antenna tuner is quick and works great. This is one of the better HF radios I have owned. Menu system is easy enough. Like this radio very much. Go Icom! 73
G4OER Rating: 2016-03-03
Very good value for money Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Icom just updated mine to cure the over-shoot problem. Also did the mod so that I can use it on 60 metres. Using the newly acquired AH4 auto atu. Really pleased with the set-up now. As a keen ex RAF CW operator I would recommend it as a substantially constructed radio with some proper man-sized knobs. I particularly like the decent sized control knob for adjusting RF power.

----------------------
Earlier 2-star review posted by G4OER on 2012-09-29

According to ACOM, who made my amp, the overshoot can cause some damage so I tried an outboard negative supply applied to the ALC socket on the 7410 to see if I could tame it. No success.
IZ5MJQ Rating: 2016-02-09
The best for his price Time Owned: 3 to 6 months.
It ' absolutely the best equipment in relation to the cost .
With its roofing filter installed has a receiver identical to that of 7600 at a price of about half , definitely does not have the display , the dual watch and goodies on the big brother , but if you search for the pure substance , and this performance is absolutely l ' device that no one can be lacking at the station !
K1FBI Rating: 2016-02-01
Love this rig Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
This performs better than my ProII or PROIII. It has serious build quality and feels like a base station. With Ham Radio Deluxe I don't feel like I am missing out on anything. It's a great value and does everything I need.