Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: ICOM IC-7410

Category: Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : ICOM IC-7410
Reviews: 100MSRP: 1,999.00
Description:
Icom's newest mid price range HF/6 meter all mode base radio.
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7410/default.aspx
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
251004.9
KD8OTT Rating: 2012-10-22
Great radio Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Have had zero problems that were mentioned below. In CW mode zero problems also !! Go into pile ups bare foot with 50 to 100 watts and break through no problem always good audio reports. Like the quite fan !!! Run alot of digital modes and run it through heavy duty cycle on all band and it runs like a champ. Like the ease of use, also added all filter that are very affective in blocking out interference. In my book its a 5 plus, havent tried the FTDX3000 yet but this radio is awesome.
F6IRT Rating: 2012-10-07
Not the best for just fine Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Never had those bad issues mentioned by some hams. Neither power amplifier nor cw QSK so no trouble. Well built with solid feeling. large on the desk but not too much. Superb audio in rx and strong and clear signal in tx with the SM50 (I like +++). Of course some add-ons (audio peak filter and visual tuning in cw and a better IMD) should have to be included in this black box but the 50Hz (in cw) passing band makes the job easily like for the split operation. Have had many trx's and this one is perfect compromise for the price.
K4EZD Rating: 2012-10-05
Impressive so far Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I only used the Icom 718 and Kenwood TS520 before but have had the 7410 for two months now and am loving it. Impressed so far with the audio filters, built in tuner, USB capabilities, and ease of use. I don't plan on using an amplifier so the "overshoot" does not matter and the fan is quiet enough for me and much quieter than the fan on my power supply. No problems so far with any aspect of it and reports have been good during QSO's . Solid feel and large display make it comfortable to use even for old hams (is there any other kind?).
G0APM Rating: 2012-09-01
A competent radio Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
It's a very good radio although it doesn't 'magically' hear stuff that I can't already receive on my FT-897 or even IC-718, it's simply far more refined, by a long way.

DSP, filtering, adjustments and performance is excellent making it a joy. The internal USB serial port and sound card makes things really simple for digital modes that otherwise require boxes, wires, stuff and paraphernalia. SSB TX audio is excellent once you have it set, as is the RX audio.

The internal ATU works extremely well without 'click-clacking' relays and works seamlessly and seems to have a very good tuning range.

No complaints about fan noise here and get the impression it's (almost) good for 100% duty cycle without a murmur and just gets warm.

Can't comment on usage with an amplifier as I don't use one.

Seems to have true 'Top-of-the-Range' performance without having to take out a mortgage!
KI5SO Rating: 2012-07-31
Fits the bill for rag chewers! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I have used the 756pro series, 775, 761, 7000, Kenwood TS-850 and I must say this new technology is impressive in the 7410. It really has a quiet receiver and has audio as good as there is. I would say that anyone who could live without a scope would be amazed at what a value this radio is. Put on a nice desk mic, I use the Heil ICM, and start getting compliments. It is missing a clock, but that is not a big deal. For the rag chewer and dxer this radio is as fine as it gets. I give it a thumbs up.
LA5XQ Rating: 2012-04-30
Very good tranceiver Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I have had my IC-7410 radio for 2 months now. Compared to my old trx the IC-756: In SSB-mode 7410 is a leap ahead. The received signal is clearly better with nice sound and possibility to regulate treble and bass, this relates also to AM - the best AM I have ever heard. I have a ham neighbour working 2kw 500 meters away, he is blocking out my 756 over the entire 80-meter. On the 7410 I can hear my dear neighbour only at the frequency he is transmitting at! This is a great advancement. So selectivity is very much better but sensitivity is about the same. I have both the roofing filters installed.

On CW is it an other history: With use of the Audio Peak filter the 756 sounds better with more punch to the signal in the speaker, though the difference to the 7410 is not great it is still there.

Then the reason to rating 4: The fan is a silly simple 11 leaf fan of the cheapest type. It is not running while only receiving the first 2 hours the set is on (22 Celcius). After two hours it will start and give a very annoying sound and it continues to run even if the radio is cooled down. To stop the fan I have to turn the radio off and wait for a minute then turn it on and it will give peace for about 2 hours. This is a very bad solution to the cooling and ICOM should know better. When transmitting the fan will start running imideately and rise and lower the speed as needed, but not stopping when turning to receive again, than the fan runs at slow speed with its annoying sound until I turn the set off.
The solution to the problem is to find a fan that makes less noise wich is very easy, they are plenty at the computer-stores. But it takes a lot of skill to replace the fan as one needs to dismantle half the radio and desolder kee components in the PA. That is not recomended on a brand new set. So I looked in my surplus box and found a nice silent fan from a PC power supply, and mounted it above the original one. Cutted the wires and soldered on and the annoiing sound is gone. With this fan I have to put my ear below the radio to hear it run. And it is doing the job all the way when transmitting.

What about the guarantee? I dont know, but I would have returned the radio if I had not found a fix to the fan problem!
VK2FSTU Rating: 2012-04-03
A fantastic buy and very happy. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
This was a great price to start with, Field Day special and then a discount to boot. But best of all, fired it up and straight away found the clarity of the sound to be best I've heard of any radio I've listened to. Only having a temp antenna up at a very low and strange angle, didn't think it would tune in very well, but the antenna tuner in this radio amazed me, better at tuning than my external AT-600 Pro. This radio is going to give me many happy days of use, couldn't be happier.
KT9C Rating: 2012-03-23
Good capable radio but noisy fan Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Overall this is a wonderful rig to operate. Ergonomics are good and menu is easy to use. The receiver is quiet...selectivity is good [with optional filters] and receiver noise reduction works well. I get great audio reports using SSB. I like this radio BUT my biggest gripe is the noisy cooling fan. It is quiet at first but after perhaps 10-15 minutes of SSB operating it cycles up to an annoying high speed. Can be heard even with headphones on.
I would rate this rig a 5 if it weren't for the annoying fan noise.
N8GTX Rating: 2012-03-22
Excellent! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Only have had it about a week now but WOW! It's a step up from my TS-2000 which I didn't think was a bad rig for what it was. Menu is easy to navigate. All important functions are at your fingertips (knob control). The DSP filter functions especially with the 3/KHz roofing filter installed are second to none. The receiver really brick-walls interfering signals. Sensitivity is excellent. I also DX the MW-BCB and LW bands and it's simply superb there. According to AB4OJ's review Icom does not incorporate attenuation in the lower MW bands. Audio quality is nice from the little speaker. Excellent from a nice set of high end PC speakers.

Audio reports from the transmitted audio are of course excellent. Also, contrary to popular belief this rig may be firmware update capable through the USB connection. Icom recently released a firmware update for the IC-9100 which is the same radio with added high band modules. I'm hoping it's the same for this set and see no reason why it shouldn't be as the 9100 was supposedly not firmware upgradeable either.

Excellent mid-range rig. Money well spent in my book even with some of it's quirks which no radio lacks in one way or another.
WB7ASC Rating: 2012-03-16
Total satisfaction Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Have had the IC-7410 for two days - still learning all its features, but some initial comments: It is replacing my IC-718 which will be moved to our 5th wheel camper (note: I am NOT geting rid of the 718)!

The operation is silent - no loud clacking noises from relays on band changes. And, I hear no fan noise. The radio has instant start-up. The display is great, with a large frequency readout, very clear.

This radio has a monitor (sidetone) function. Put on headphones, monitor your voice as you transmit. Make audio adjustments (using a dummy load, of course) to suit your preference. This is an unadvertised but very worthwhile function. The radio has great receive audio right out of the box, but it also can be tailored to your preference.

There is a dedicated pushbutton for each of the ham bands, a nice touch. The built-in antenna coupler is fast and quiet. It matches the antenna typically within one to two seconds. Again, no relays clacking. All the controls to which you may want immediate access are right there on the front panel. I feel that the FL-431 3kHz filter is a worthwhile option.

The IC-7410 has exceeded my expectations. It is worth a solid five rating!