Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: RADIOSPORT HEADSETS

Category: Headphones & Boom-microphone Headsets

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : RADIOSPORT HEADSETS
Reviews: 132MSRP: 159. USD
Description:
RS20S Stereo/Diversity Receive with Carbon Fiber Finish. 24db Noise Reduction
with 3.5mm Plug and 1/4" Adapter
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.arlancommunications.com/index.asp
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
44.81324.9
WK4U Rating: 2015-12-05
Headphone solution finally solved! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I get to leave the 100th positive review!

Normally, I only leave reviews that deserve a zero -or- a full five stars. This review is no exception.

I have worn my RS60 headset for hours at a time with no fatigue. That includes wearing eye glasses. Can't say the same for any other headsets I've owned. Recently I was operating mobile with two other hams. We had two simultaneous CW stations on-the-air while driving around Georgia for the GQP. The third ham was the driver. When wearing the RS60 headset, you hear absolutely nothing but what comes out of your radio. No road noise. No horns from other vehicles. No engine or wind noise. Even the driver yelling to ask me a question. They always had to tap on my shoulder and I had to lift one headphone to hear them. No kidding. I also find my receiver volume doesn't have to be as high as it does with other headsets. These headphones are very efficient. The audio coming into my ears sounds like it's almost directly on my ear drum. So close and so clear that my signal/noise ratio is always strong. I've owned numerous headphones (even Bose noise canceling). Honestly none compare to the comfortable working quality of this set.

The cable connecting to this headset uses a mini XLR type connector. You can take it off easily. I own two. One for my Flex radio, another for my Kenwood gear. The modularity works very well, and is easy to change as needed.

The other day, I called Dave about an issue I was experiencing. My head pad would slowly work its way loose over time. Occasionally I would have to re-velcro it back on tight. Dave told me he came up with a better solution, confirmed my mailing address from his records, and quickly shipped me a replacement head pad at no charge. I put the new head pad on, and after using it for a number of hours, determined the fix was 100% good. Would you be hesitant to buy a product from a company that treats its existing customers like this!?

Finally my headphone solution is solved. If you buy a pair, I promise yours will be too.

Tim
N3CAL Rating: 2015-11-24
RS60CF-DDE Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Simply the best stereo/dual-watch/dual-receive boom-mic headset I've ever owned! Superior form, fit and finish! They are very comfortable and easy to adjust. The headset to radio cables are well made and I love the ability to switch out cables depending on what radio you have. I currently have mine in use with my Flex-6500. Both the M207 and M350-ADJ mic cartridge's make the Flex sound great for both DX and Ragchew settings. Dave at Arlan Communications was a pleasure to work with. He answered all my questions and ensured I got the right fit for my rig. Shipping was fast as well.
G0UOO Rating: 2015-11-22
Excellent Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
Well made, good sound and very comfortable. They cut out nearly all external sounds, so bear that in mind if you need to hear a little of what's going on around you.
WA9BZW Rating: 2015-10-16
Super headset, super service Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Picked up the Radiosport RS90CF-DDE last month after giving it a comparison test with others at the W9DXCC conference and am very pleased with it's performance. Get excellent results as reports have indicated. Hear stations I couldn't before. Got the cables to hook up my 990 too and couldn't be more pleased with performance and service of the headset. Only quality materials in the product.
KH6DC Rating: 2015-10-13
Awesome Headset and Customer Service Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have a RS60CF I first bought in 2013. After 2 years of using it heavily and flipping the boom up and down it came loose at the ear muff side to where when I flipped it down, it would swivel away from my mouth. I inquired with Dave on purchasing another and he responded that it has a 5 year warranty, he'll fix it for free. I sent it in and in 5 days got it back like brand new. I will purchase another for my office to operate home rig remotely. I added new ear cloths, mic sock and pillow top head pad. I couldn't find a great pair to replace it so went and inquired and was happy I did. This is an excellent headset and customer service Dave Bottom stands behind his product. Awesome Radiosport, Arlan Communications and Dave Bottom. You will definitely love your new headset and customer service behind it....it's worth every penny!
WN5S Rating: 2015-09-11
Great Headset and Customer Service Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I purchased the RS60CF to pair with my Ten Tec Eagle. The experience taught me one thing: Dave at Arlan Communications understands value.

The Headset and Mic are robust, constructed with attention to detail. You can tell the moment you pick them up and put them on. I knew they were a winner as soon as I heard the receive. My high-fidelity Sennheiser headphones are no better.

The many mic options and radio specific connectors require some care in selection. I bought mine through a 3rd party dealer who had to backorder the cable to the radio and sent the headset with a mic different than the paperwork stated. Out of the box I could hear but not transmit.

But an email and a call to Dave resulted in detailed instructions and specific directions. He interrupted a trip with his wife for my call and made an exhaustive written response within a few hours. His directions were clear. Most important, when I followed his directions, the mic worked perfectly. I'm getting great audio reports.

If you're looking for a dependable headset and mic combination with excellent performance, comfortable to wear and at a fair price for the item, the company behind it and the service you receive, your search should include RadioSport Headsets from Dave at Arlan Communications.
KM4HI Rating: 2015-08-08
RadioSport RS60CF Time Owned: more than 12 months.
The Arlan RadioSport RS60CF is a superior headset for any amateur radio use.
I have two that I have owned for several years. I have one for the Ten Tec Orion 1 with the M207 mic element and recently acquired an M360 element for an ICOM IC-7000. Both have great audio.
The headsets are quite comfortable for those 48 hour contest events. The ambient noise isolation (amp and p/s fans mostly) provide you a better chance to copy those weak signals. Never heard any RFI in these headsets. Highly recommended for your dxing and contesting operations.
K8ND Rating: 2015-05-28
Good Performance, Good Value! Time Owned: 6 to 12 months.
I own one each of the RS60CF "Dream Edition" (headset) and RS20S (headphones). I used each for the past year in ARRL Centennial operations from home and a couple of contest operations from PJ2T.

Prior to these, I owned and used pretty much all of the various Heil headset models, and a large variety of headphones (noise cancelling and not) from many manufacturers.

These Arlan Radiosport headsets and headphones are the most comfortable and best-performing of any I have tried. I can wear either for as long as necessary (up to 12 hours in some cases) without 'head crush' or 'ear atrophy' once adjusted. Construction quality is excellent. They seal *around* my oversized ears to close out ambient noise better than some noise-cancelling headphones.

Two of my Heil headsets had been sent off for repair at the 'Heil Hospital' at serious cost - again - when I ordered the RS60CF, and the Heils are still unused in the box since they were returned.

I decided long ago to stop spending money on substandard products just because they are cheaper: it costs more in the long run. The Arlan Radiosport headsets and headphones are an investment that I do not regret!
K7PE Rating: 2015-05-22
THE BEST.no comparison Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have owned the RS-60-CF headset now for 2 years and I COULD NOT BE MORE SATIFIED. The earfones are VERY comfortable even when worn for long periods and the voice frequencies seem to pop out at you. I have a very bad hearing loss in both ears and the RS-60 is a real pleasure to use.
The microphone is great with many compliments on the audio.
The Build quality is next to perfect, and after using daily for over 2 years not a problem, kind of like slipping on an old pair of your favorite shoes.
Dave is constanly up grading his product with a new improved lite weight 8 pin connector and a new dynamic mic. element "M208" 100HZ-6KHZ response.
I have been licensed since 1955 and couldn't recommend anything better.
73 Bob Hopkins K7PE
DF7FE Rating: 2015-04-29
Forget Heil Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Never had a better Headset before than the RS20S. It is worth every Cent (including expensive overseas shipping cost and tax). Unfortunately they have no european (german) distributor.