Manager


Manager - NA4M
Manager Notes

Reviews For: RADIOSPORT HEADSETS

Category: Headphones & Boom-microphone Headsets

eMail Subscription

Registered users are allowed to subscribe to specific review topics and receive eMail notifications when new reviews are posted.
Review Summary For : RADIOSPORT HEADSETS
Reviews: 132MSRP: 159. USD
Description:
RS20S Stereo/Diversity Receive with Carbon Fiber Finish. 24db Noise Reduction
with 3.5mm Plug and 1/4" Adapter
Product is in production
More Info: http://www.arlancommunications.com/index.asp
# last 180 days Avg. Rating last 180 days Total reviews Avg. overall rating
44.81324.9
G8ITB Rating: 2014-10-04
Excellent! Time Owned: more than 12 months.
Item Reviewed: Radiosport RS60CF Headset.

During the London Olympics, my club; Cray Valley RS; operated one of the special event stations; "2012L". This environment was challenging. A number of radio stations in close proximity to each other - all with enthusiastic operators - and visitors most of the time! Headsets were the norm; rather than mic and speaker. Adaptors were made for each make and model of transceiver in use. Operators often brought their own headsets.

One guest operator allowed me to use his Radiosport headset during the night shifts (with a personal cotton cover)! I was converted to this make after the first night - solid construction, comfortable to wear and use - and I received unsolicited complements on my audio - even in the 40 Metre "catfight" for the call-sign!

I now use an RS60CF model at home; with an Icom IC-7100 - and would recommend this headset over the Heil make (I have used Heil over many years - no more!) for comfort and reliability - as well as transmitted audio!

Only BIG problem: Radiosport do not supply "adaptors" for the different makes of transceiver - that is down to the user to deal with! Not a big problem; but it can be unexpected, if you wanted-plug-and-play instant use!

73

Richard G8ITB/AB9SL.
N2WB Rating: 2014-06-24
FIVE Stars PLUS ! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
Received the RS60CF a few months ago. I was very impressed with the performance.

Great comfort, very quiet, very well made. Rec excellant audio reports. Loud and clear.


Audio reports were basically "sounds great".

Loud and very clear....


Great piece of equipment. Am lucky to have in the DX Shack !

73

Wild Bill N2WB

William
K6LPQ Rating: 2014-04-29
Excellent Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I ordered the headset late Friday afternoon and it was delivered in Monday mail. Very nice shipping response.

Donna was with me as I opened the package. I slipped them on her head right out of the box. Her first comment was she couldn't hear the ambient noise--score one for noise isolation. Her next comment was even though they look bulky they are comfortable.

Being more technical, I adjusted them to fit my head and plugged them into my radio. Excellent fit, ambient noise rejection, comfort and frequency performance.

My immediate favorite headset for Ham Radio use.
WC3N Rating: 2014-04-22
Model RS60CF Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
After many years of using inferior headsets I can finally say I have found one I like a lot. You put these babies on and welcome to the world of amateur radio again. I am using mine with a Yaesu FT 990 and Rigblaster Advantage. I have no issues or complaints with the cable, which I think is excellent, and far exceeds the quality of anything I have used in the past. This headset is heavier than what I have used before but once it's adjusted the weight is a non-issue for me. Using the radio filters seem to work better than with my previous headsets. Best of all I can clean out the drawer with old headsets once and for all.
K0IR Rating: 2014-04-03
The best I've ever owned. Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
There is probably no tougher duty for a headset than a DXpedition. We used the Radiosport RS60CF headsets on the Amsterdam Island DXpedition (FT5ZM), and they passed with flying colors.
Typically I bring home a headset from a DXpedition and it goes into the drawer filled with other broken headsets with the earpieces falling off and little wires hanging out that I can’t stuff back into the holes. Not so with the Radiosport RS60CF’s. These are strong, durable, robust headsets. Not only are these the best built headsets I’ve ever owned, they are comfortable and very effective in blocking out ambient noise.
Shifts can be long on DXpeditions. Wearing these headsets 12 hours a day, sometimes more, for two weeks was easy. My ears didn’t hurt where the bows of my glasses run behind them, I had no grove in the top of my head, and my ears never felt squashed and painful.
It’s also noisy on DXpeditions. The SSB operator next to you may be yelling into the mic, amps are humming nearby, the generators are roaring outside, the wind may be rattling the tent, and those not operating are frequently conversing behind you. I’ve tried noise cancelling headsets in the past, but they are now residents in my drawer of broken headsets. The Radiosport RS60CF headsets are so effective in blocking ambient noise that I’ll never think about bring noise cancelling headsets again.
The RS60CF’s do it all: Rugged, quality construction; great listening audio; comfort; isolation from ambient noise; and we got great audio reports. These are keepers!
N1UW Rating: 2014-03-14
Excellent Product Time Owned: more than 12 months.
I have owned my RS20S for a year now and thoroughly enjoy them. Some may say they are heavy but they seem to float on my head and around my ears. The ear pillows are soft as a feather but still seal out the background noise.

I have several radios so I like the ability to switch the cable right at the headphone without having bulky adapters lying on my desk or a chain of converters hanging off the front of the radio.

I also find the PTT switch on the headphone shell handy from time to time if I am standing and not in position to step on the foot switch or reach for the PTT switch on the front panel of the radio.

Service from Dave is great, too. When I changed radio brands and needed a electret mic element, Dave made several recommendations and helped me choose a mic element that I am very happy with. I also asked for some documentation and a wiring diagram for the cable I was using. Dave sent it out right away along with a detailed personal note on how to accomplish my task.

I find the earphone sensitivity just fine. The audio output on my K3 does appear to be lower than I would like (not enough audio to adequately drive my West Mountain RigBlaster Advantage)but I have no problem with driving the RS20S to more loudness than I need. No problem there.

I also once experienced the "telegraphing" noise reported by one user. This was due to the fact that I did not have the DIN plug fully snapped into position on the headphone jack. Once I snapped the plug completely into position, the rustling noise went away and never returned. 100% operator error.

The criticism that the cord is stiff is valid but I have learned to coil the excess cord on the desk top in a way that it doesn't flop around or interfere with the comfort of my movements.

I have used the other brands at length and I can honestly say that the Radiosport headsets have no equal.
KA3BMU Rating: 2014-03-14
quiet and comfortable Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
My shack is in the basement, with a loud furnace in the winter and dehumidifier running all summer, plus two young'uns running around. These cans do a terrific job of removing the ambient noise. During the recent ARRL DX CW test, I was able to pick out weak signals with no trouble, that I did have trouble with my previous set of headphones. They weigh more, but wearing them balanced according to the instructions and I forget I have them on. They cost a little more, but the advantages are worth it in my environment.
KG7DNT Rating: 2014-01-19
Radiosport RS60CF Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
I received the RS60CF Dream Edition just before the North American QSO SSB contest. After a 12 hour day working VOX on my IC-7200, I was very impressed with the performance.

Great comfort, very quiet, very well made. I have a friend with the Pro-Set Elite. I found them pretty uncomfortable since they just clamp on the ears, not going over them. They did work well, audio was very good, but they just did not feel good on my ears.

Arlan recommended the the M350-Adjustable mic, and the thing is pretty hot. To keep the ALC in range, I had to back the mic adjustment almost all the way down to keep the Mic Gain in the 30% range on the IC-7200.

Audio reports were basically "sounds great".

Another interesting feature is the 3.5mm aux input/output jack. I am learning CW, so I can listen to the computer program I use to practice receiving code, and can hear the radio thru the headset while I practice sending. Really a nice little feature.

The cable is robust, but I don't think it is to stiff. It is very high quality and I see no problem. The cable has the Minixlr port and is really an impressive connection.

Great piece of equipment.





IZ0GPP Rating: 2013-12-22
A CW MUST! Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
After having tried many "famous" trademark i finally found what it really deserves to be a must for any serious cw operator. The RS20S is built like a tank but it's astonishingly comfortable and light, it has a sound response which allows to copy easily the hunted signal isolating the operator from any ambiental noise and i'm really impressed from the high quality of the materials used. Really suggested.
KA2WDV Rating: 2013-12-19
simply amazing Time Owned: 0 to 3 months.
A girlfriend requires at least 6 months to a year to review. Ham radio gear can be reviewed much quicker. Now that I have your attention, I want to tell you about the RS20S headset I just received from Arlan Communications. Absolutely AMAZING. This headset is the best. It is comfortable and has great noise cancelling capabilities. When the girlfriend yells for me, I can't hear you. I don't have to lie anymore. I am a little hard of hearing and it is great to put these on. I can copy the real weak stations that blended into the noise from the Icom-7200 front firing speaker before. They are built like a tank. I didn't think quality equipment was out there anymore. The audio quality is sweet. I am extremely tight with my reviews, I refuse to give something a 5 for a review unless it is truly warranted. My money comes difficult for me. Anyway these headphones are a 5+ in my opinion. The wonderful 30 year olds must not have been involved with this one.If you want a headset that is built like a tank, has excellent audio and is a real dream to wear for hours, this is it. Go buy one. Oh you guys are probably waiting for a review on the girlfriend, well, this is ham radio so we will keep it at that. When I write a review, I feel it is my obligation to our Ham community to be as accurate and honest as you can with these reviews because I read and rely on them with much weight when I make a decision to buy a piece of equipment. In closing, WELL DONE ARLAN COMMUNICATIONS. 73'S KA2WDV